Root Vegetable Soup

Sometimes on my way home from work all I do is plan my dinner in my head. And listen to Splendid Table podcast. And then I visualize my dinner further, and in more detail- inspired.

I consider what I have on hand. And my hunger level. And how long it would take to make. And what music I want to listen to while I cook.

The other night, as I visualized my vegetable basket, I realized I had a lot of root vegetables. You know, a sweet potato, an onion, garlic, ginger, beets, carrots. Things that grow beneath the soil. Vegetables that thrive in cooler weather.

Naturally, these things work well together. Nature does that- it pairs seasonal flavors FOR us.

So, surprise surprise, soup it was.

Root Vegetable Soup.
I just have to say, this soup was magic. The color- vibrant red from the beats. The texture? Like a sweet potato bisque. With the background of slightly caramelized carrot, onion, ginger root, and garlic- and some rosemary for warmth, it was a deep soup in both flavor and texture, a reflection of its ingredients.

As for the music choice?

Cats and Dogs. By the Head and the Heart.

Food and music. A match made in heaven.

Root Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

*4 beets, diced

*2 carrots, chopped

*1 brown onion, diced

*3 cloves garlic, smashed

*1/4 inch ginger, roughly minced

*1 sweet potato, diced

*Sprig of rosemary

*Salt, Pepper, and Olive oil

*Crackers, croutons, nuts, etc- for garnish.

Method: Heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add onion and carrot. Saute until they start to caramelize. Add some salt, pepper, garlic, ginger, the beet, the sweet potato, and rosemary- and continue to brown. After about 5 minutes, add enough water to just cover it all. Cover, bring to a boil. then allow to simmer for about 20 minutes, or until it is all tender and soft. Blend away. Classic soup making. Re-season if necessary.

**If you make this soup- be warned. Your pee might just be tinted pink for a few days. Bonus!**

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Root Vegetable Soup

  1. Sounds like a lovely dinner table scene. I need to try some of your soup recipes since you mentioned how easy and tasty they are to make. And I LOVE the Splendid Table. I am a fan podcast subscriber. Have you listened to KCRW’s Good Food podcast?

Leave a Reply

