Foodbuzz 24×24: A (mostly) Pantry Made Meal

This month for the Foodbuzz 24×24 challenge, the idea was to make a meal that doesn’t require you to spend much money, and you don’t have go to the store for anything—well, almost anything at least. So, my idea was the following:

Step 1: Make a homemade bread. These are ingredients I usually have in my pantry. Why don’t I make homemade bread more often, you ask? I really don’t know. I should, you’re right.This is a recipe that Quince gave me- from Abodanza. It is an awesome recipe, and it’s very easy.These are his directions:

Ingredients:
18 oz OR 3 7/8 cups of flour (preferably bread flour OR unbleached white will work)
2 Tb Semolina Flour
1/2 oz (15g of Fresh Yeast )or 1 packet of Dry Yeast
1/2 oz OR 2 tsp of fine salt (not corse otherwise it wont distribute correctly)
2 oz OR 5 Tb Olive oil
11 1/2 oz OR 12 Fl OZ Warm Water
1/3 cup Fresh minced Rosemary or Oregano or even Sage (Fresh Herbs)
Directions: mix the flour yeast and semolina all together in a big bowl, then add in the olive oil, salt, fresh herbs and warm water (hotter then luke warm but not scorching!!) mix together and knead for about 10 min( on a flat clean surface works best out of the bowl)  until the dough feels elastic and the dough on your fingers should be cleaned off if not then just rub your hand and clean them and continue knead for the rest of the time. The dough should eventually not stick to your hands after the 10 min you then add a LITTLE flour on top and roll into a ball so that the ball of dough is slightly coated then place it in a lightly flour bowl cover with cling wrap or a moist lint free towel let it sit out for about 1 hour or until it has doubled it size (the time varies on the humidity and warmth of the room your in. it may double it size in just 30 min under the right conditions) during this time you can warm up your oven to 425’F or 218’C. After it has grew in size divide it up into what sizes you want (the thicker the size the longer it will take to bake) once the oven is warm to the correct temp place the bread into the oven for about 30-35 min.

I followed his directions to a T. Because I’ve tasted his breads, and they are some of the best I’ve had…Step 2: While the bread was rising in the warm, not hot, oven (I put on on 200, and then turned it off, then turned it back on, then off…for the duration of it rising) covered by a damp towel (pictured above), I got to work on Shakshuka. This is also something you can make basically with things you have in your pantry. A can of tomato sauce and some veggies that keep for a while— onions, garlic…peppers, more tomatoes, if you have. Eggplant, if you have.
I had some leftover peppers…
And a yellow onion…And a few cherry tomatoes…again, you don’t NEED these. Just, if you have, you can use.After they all cooked together for a while, I poured in that can of tomato sauce…I let that cook together, so that all the flavors could  meld together and deepen.

After about an hour, the bread dough had risen. I cut some slits into it…
And put it on a baking sheet. Threw it in a 425 degree oven…While it was baking, I cracked some eggs onto the simmering tomato sauce…Placed a cover on it and let the eggs cook. About 10 minutes…Then… the bread came out. Great success. Can’t you just SEE the golden crunch?This was the butter for the bread, and the garnish for the Shakshuka. Feta and parsley. You could use basil or rosemary I’m sure…and goat cheese, mozzarella, or even parmesan would work too.MmMmMmMm…. Breakfast is served!So comforting. SO much depth of flavor…Perfect meal for dunking that bread…The bread went fast…The texture was just so perfect. It was steamy and had a good chew. But a good crunchy crust too. Thank you again, Quince.We cleared our plates quickly…OH- and by the way, Step 3: There was dessert too…For this fruit crumble, any fresh fruit would work. Even a combination of fruit. Hey, frozen fruit would work too! I used fresh strawberries…’cause I had ’em on hand.I tossed them in flour, which helps make a good “sauce” once it goes into the oven- and then topped them with oats (hey, we all have oats on hand, right?!), brown sugar (white would work too), and then little pieces of butter. You all have those things, right? I actually grated some ginger on top too, for a lil’ somthin’ extra.I didn’t measure. Just a sprinkle of this, a handful of that… You really can’t go wrong.We had to serve it with vanilla ice cream. Just had to. Even though it was breakfast. It really made all the difference.
I made sure to save a little piece of bread for my roommate who was working— but besides that- EVERYTHING went.
This is why I love cooking. Seeing people try new things and enjoy it. Thoroughly.

And now we all sit, in a food coma, playing Catan. What a great, great Saturday morning…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foodbuzz 24×24: A (mostly) Pantry Made Meal

  1. Pingback: Brown Sugar Cookies N’ Milk | jamelafamela

  2. Ramona says:

    Congrats on your 24×24! It looks like a wonderful pantry inspired meal. I love eggs in purgatory! I have a version of my own (infused with curry and spices) at curry and comfort. The bread looks really fantastic! : )

  3. Pingback: I Love You, San Francisco « jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

