Rachel Comes to California…

My sister came to visit me last week! Here’s what we did…and what we ate too of course!

One day we went to Laguna Beach…I taught Rachel about flower photography a bit…
And we strolled around the Montage Hotel…We ate at the cafe there. 1st out was complementary banana bread and some coffee.MmMmM!I love my coffee 🙂We split the egg white mushroom omelet- with heirloom tomatoes, truffle oil, and boursin cheese. We both agreed this was maybe the best omelet we’ve ever had. EVER.
And we also split the lemon curd huckleberry crepes with pine nuts and fresh thyme.To die for. As was our view,We took a trolly down to the cute town of laguna, where we walked up down the canyon and to the Festival of the Arts.We spent a couple of hours browsing the art work, especially the photography.It was a beautiful day!🙂
We then made a trip to the candy store- one of those old fashioned ones with everything you could ever want. My sister has a thing for caramel apple pops right now…Then… we saw a guy playing guitar, saving up for a spaceship…So naturally, we had to help out…We then sat by the pier and watched volleyball, and just chilled out a bit.These guys were goooooood. So much fun to watch.The next day we went walking around Scripps Pier and Torry Pines.And La Jolla in general.It truly is a beautiful city!We then went to lunch- I got some sort of thai noodle wraps, and Rachel got an egg white tofu pesto thing with brown rice. We loved our meals! We went to the Coffee Cup in La Jolla.That night for dinner, some of my friends came over and we made one of our typical farm fresh meals.Besides the below salad, we made a tomato sauce entirely out of tomatoes from 3 of our gardens. It was incredibly sweet and SO delicious. You can’t find something like this in stores or even restaurants! Not with this much freshness and love put in…The chefs, minus Rachel.Her last night here we went to my friend Jennifer’s for a home cooked Mexican food meal.
We first made guac…And I didn’t take pictures – but Jennifer made homemade enchiladas- both chicken and pepper (for me the vegetarian!). She is a great cook! Nothing I enjoy quite as much as home cooked meals with good friends.The sun finally set on a great 5ish days with my sister in San Diego.But I have a feeling she’ll be back…

Thanks for coming Rachel I love you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

