Grilled Black Bean Burgers

 

I used to make these all the time- one of my mom’s most requested recipes when I was still living in Chicago.

Black bean burgers. This time, on the grill.

I topped  them with avocado, roasted red pepper salsa (Trader Joe’s), and grilled onions. I put it all onto a corn tortilla, and I ate it like  a taco. It was messy.I savored every last bite. And when I was all done, I crunched on some purple cabbage and peeled carrot slaw I whipped together. With a squeeze of orange and lime, salt, and pepper, it was quite refreshing.My only wish? Someone was here to eat this meal with me, and mmmm at each bite. Mom? Come to San Diego? I got a bean burger waitin’ for ya!

Black Bean Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • handful almonds (or pumpkin seeds work if you have an allergy)
  • 1/3 cup corn
  • 1 carrot, roughly chopped
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt, pepper

Directions: Reserve 1/4 cup of black beans and place all ingredients besides this and the corn in your food processor. Process until a smooth paste forms. It should be thick enough where you can form a patty and it stays together. When it’s done, fold in the corn and reserved black beans. Form into patties. You should get 4 from 1 can of beans. Heat up your grill. When it’s nice and hot, spray it, and lay the bean burgers down. They’re vegan and so they don’t need cooking really- so really you’re just going ’til you get grill marks and they’re heated through. About 5 min/side.

Enjoy and TGIF!


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Black Bean Burgers

  1. Trish says:

    I’m here! I’m here! Can we re-enact this for our Saturday dinner?!?!

  2. Pingback: life.is.good. | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

