Friday.

Yesterday morning was just like any typical morning. I woke up. I watered my garden. I made oatmeal for breakfast. Got ready for work. Left my house. Then, about 5 minutes into my commute, BAM. I see cars in front of me swerving…then it came into view. A huge metal construction ladder laying across 2 lanes. I started to switch lanes, got hit from behind, lost complete control of my car- I was flying around the highway like crazy, just trying to gain control- trying to stop. I was thinking all those things you hear- don’t break- steer in the direction of the skid- etc. None of it was working! Finally- I came to a halt. Somehow. I was so discombobulated- I pulled over- surprised my car would even drive. And I sat. Took a breath. I was in total shock. I saw a bunch of other cars- also affected by this ladder- everyone was okay. No injuries. The cops came. Phone calls were made. My car is VERY damaged on the rear end- not good.  Not something I want to deal with- at all. But, I’m okay. I’m alive. Not injured. I went on with my day- as scared as I was to drive to work on the highway- I figured I best get back on the horse- and just do it.

Just goes to show. You never know what could happen to you. It is so important to not take any day for granted- not the people in your life either. You just never know.

Fridays at work we set up a stand with a prize wheel in front of our office because it is Cruisin’ Grand in Escondido. We figure it’s a good way to get known in the community. But Cruisin’ Grand is really cool- it’s only classic American cars allowed on the street- and people walk around and just gawk at them. I’m not into cars at all- but if you were- you’d like this.

I was excited to get home- Lindsey is visiting me from San Francisco! It was SO great to see her- especially after the day I had.

To relieve stress, we had a glass of wine, and I grilled some salmon and corn- made a quinoa salad. I marinated the salmon in a quick Asian soy sesame sauce- I use this sauce all the time. It’s so easy to throw together- just soy sauce, vinegar, orange juice, ginger, garlic, sesame seeds- I used sesame oil too- some pepper, and honey. I topped it with some basil. It was really good!
Lindsey loved the salad, and requested I post the recipe.
I told her, I don’t really use a recipe, but here’s a METHOD for this sort of salad:

  • 1/2 cup quinoa (or any grain- quina works, rice, brown rice, etc.)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/4 cup dried fruit- I used craisins- but raisins, chopped dried appricots, dried figs, etc. could work
  • 1 Tbs fresh herbs. I used basil. You can use cilantro too- that’d be good.
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts or seeds. I used walnuts. Almonds, pine nuts, pistachios, pumpkin seeds, etc. could work. Be creative.
  • 2 Tbs citrus juice- I used orange- grapefruit or some lemon or lime could be wonderful!
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • (optional) curry powder, cumin- hot sauce.

Cook your grain according to cooking instructions. Usually, bring to a boil with the water, and let simmer- quinoa takes about 20 minutes. Simply stir together and enjoy.

We hung out outside, Tammy came out with her dogs- we watched them play. Heather joined us. And then Trish came over.

We played games and laughed. A lot.To end the night I made some cinnamon sugar donut muffins. It was only right.
It was hard to believe by the end of the night that I had been in such a serious car accident earlier that morning. I am so thankful to not be injured. And that Jerry, my Jeep, is drivable. And that I have good friends to hang out with and help me get it off my mind. At least for a little while.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

