Coconut Curry Sweet Potato Soup

I love foodgawker; it inspires me. I rarely use an exact recipe, nor do I do exactly what I see. I just get ideas. Sometimes when I have a rare ingredient on hand, I’ll type it into the search and see what comes up.

I haven’t had a chance to go grocery shopping since last Friday. In my house all I have to my name is a sweet potato, some ginger, 1/4 an onion, and a can of coconut milk; amongst garlic and some spices. Really random, I know. Thank god I have a garden full of herbs, ’cause that really allowed me to complete this meal exactly how I imagined it to be.

I began prepping all my ingredients… I was not only in the mood to eat this soup, but I was really in the mood for picture taking today. All of the pictures are taken with my tripod (something I rarely do.)Crushed some garlic…First I sauteed the garlic (leave it whole- you will be blending it later anyway) and the onion in some olive oil with salt and pepper.I added cubed sweet potato (the smaller you cube it the faster it’ll cook.)I then covered the sweet potatoes half way with water and half with coconut milk. I added the ginger, some cumin, some curry powder, chili powder, and some garam masala. Stir and bring to a boil. Let it simmer until the potatoes are fork tender. Then pour your mixture into a blender (or if you have a hand blender, by all means use that!) Add your cilantro.Blend for a while until fully pureed and VERY smooth.I garnished it with a coconut milk drizzle and some more cilantro.

This soup is incredibly silky and it is just packed with flavor.

Coconut Curry Sweet Potato Soup

Ingredients:

-1 sweet potato, peeled and cubed

-1/2 can light coconut milk

-1 cup water

-1 clove garlic, crushed and peeled

-1 tsp grated fresh ginger

-1/4 yellow onion, cubed

-1/2 tsp curry powder

-1/2 tsp cumin

-1/2 tsp garam masala

-1/4 tsp red chili powder

-salt and pepper to taste

-1 Tbs olive oil

-1 small handful cilantro (or to taste)

Method: Add onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and olive oil to a pan and saute until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes. Add the sweet potatoes, spices, ginger water, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil. Simmer and cover for about 10 minutes, or until potatoes are fork tender. Pour everything into a blender and add cilantro. Puree until smooth and silky. Enjoy warm and share with friends 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

