Dhal

I have had a bag of yellow split peas sitting in my pantry for about 3 months now. I know I could have made yellow split pea soup, or put them into a veggie soup— but I dunno- I just never got around to it!

So I finally went onto foodgawker.com the other day and searched Yellow Split Peas.

This came up: http://www.seasaltwithfood.com/2008/10/indian-food-for-dinner.html

So, I went to the store and bought some spices I had never bought before. One being Garam Masala. I bought it from the bulk spice aisle, so I didn’t have to buy a ton of it.

Last night amidst some garden work and laundry, I made the Yellow Split Pea Dhal.

I am happy to say I have a new favorite bean(ish) dish! (And you know how much I love my bean dishes 🙂 ) This was so flavorful- with the cumin, the garam masala, the turmeric, ginger, the garlic, and the chili powder for some spice. It was overall pretty healthy- minus the butter (I used butter, not ghee.) And it was definitely very comforting. Which I needed! I will definitely be making this again soon, but next time I want to make some homemade naan to enjoy on the side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

