Tofu and Fava Beans

First things, first… Happy Birthday MOM!!!

You’re the best and I love you and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

SO, Brian gave me a bunch of fava beans when I left his house the other night. THANK YOU! He had a ton, and was looking to get rid of some, so I gladly took some off of his hands :). On the farm Daniel made me this really good tofu dish that I have been meaning to recreate. And when I was there in October, he made a really good dish using the remainder of his fava beans from harvest. I have been craving fava beans ever since. The 2 dishes he made were similar preparations, so I decided to combine the 2 in yesterday’s (and today’s!) lunch.  I had to get the beans outta the pods- look at this little worm I found on one of them! He was still alive! I put all of the pods and also the little worm in the bowl for my compost bin. I’m sure the worm will like it in there 🙂I started by sauteing the tofu and the fava beans in olive oil over high heat.I tossed them around a few times to brown all sides. Then I poured on some soy sauce.
And I added some raw pumpkin seeds.I put the lid on and let it all cook together for about 10 minutes. I put some into a bowl, topped it with some plain yogurt, a good squeeze of lemon juice, and some nutritional yeast.
I know it may sound like an odd list of ingredients- but I promise- this dish is really tasty, not to mention incredibly healthy and filling. All of this provided me with 3 servings too- I love it so much I can’t wait for lunch tomorrow!

I’ve mentioned it before, but there’s something amazing about cooking and eating that can really bring back memories. When I cooked for passover I thought about my Oma so much, and my grandma when I made these lima beans. This meal really brought me right back to Abbodanza, along with that purple cabbage salad/slaw I made for my pot luck dinner the other night. It really is magical the way it can work like that- and it’s just one of the many reasons I love cooking and eating :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tofu and Fava Beans

  1. Todd Heller says:

    Did you have a nice chianti with those fava beans?

Leave a Reply

