My Garden

After spending time back at Abbodanza and then going home for my sister’s graduation, I am finally back in San Diego. It feels good to be back!

Our backyard neighbor had started a garden while I was gone. It looked so nice- but definitely could be added to. There is a nice little area in our yard, fenced-in and all, and I was so excited to fill in the spaces.

I went to home depot and…well, I went a little crazy buying some fruits and vegetables to plant.

I am lucky that there are already gardening tools here that I was able to use. I don’t know if they were left here from past renters or if they belong to our neighbor- either way, I had all the tools I needed!

Some things I put into their own pot. I didn’t want to crowd the fenced-in area, and I wanted to leave a path to walk in- for when we need to weed or harvest eventually. I figure the pots are good temporarily until we either switch to a raised bed of sorts or I transplant them in another area. Plus I can test the sunlight and adjust accordingly.
These are tomato plants that my neighbor planted- 2 heirloom varieties. SO excited about these.Some mint that she put into a separate pot, since she said mint grows and spreads out. She didn’t want it taking over. Here’s a good view of what the entire area looks like. I’ve been watering a ton- the ground is super dry.

A list of what is planted back here:

  • Eggplant- Japanese and Italian
  • Red and Yellow Bell Peppers
  • Habanero and Jalepeno Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Zucchini squash
  • 2 varieties heirloom tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Herbs

Besides the fruits and vegetables, I opted for three different colors and types of flowers to make the garden’s colors really pop! I loved these…This is the herb part of the garden. We’ve got basil and thai basil, oregano, cilantro, thyme, mint, rosemary, and sage. (Reminds me of the Simon Garfunkel song-Scarborough Fair!)Here are some more flowers. So pretty!Lavender- my favorite for sure. After I was all done and cleaned up, I had worked up an appetite. I made a salad with some ingredients from my garden! (I love that I can say that!) In the salad: Lettuce, spinach (from yard), basil (from yard), heirloom tomato, strawberries, walnuts, pepper, salt, olive oil, balsamic vinegar.

I am so excited to take care of my garden with the help of my neighbor- it’ll be so gratifying when all the fruits and vegetables start coming up. I cannot wait!!!

On a separate note, one of my roommates moved out and left me her bike (Thank you Jen!)- but it needed repairs. I took it in this morning- I thought it’d be pricey, but it only cost me $10 to fix it! Nice! It should be fun to explore the bike paths around San Diego- I hear there are some good ones… Today? I’m going to venture into Balboa park and see what I find…

Hope your weekends are going well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Garden

  1. Pingback: Grilled Polenta | jamelafamela

  2. Pingback: Surfing and Reflections on Balance | jamelafamela

  3. Pingback: Garden Update | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

