Easter Cookies!

I was busy cooking yesterday, if you can’t tell. I think I’m a little bit obsessed.I made these sugar cookies- it’s the same recipe as my cousins, sister, and I use every Christmas when we make decorative cookies- but I didn’t have white flour- just whole wheat- but it worked still!
So I guess they’re a healthier version. Also, I didn’t have cookie cutters. Just  made a ball of dough with my hands then flattened them with a greased bottom of a water glass. After cooling, I iced them with a lemon icing. And sprinkled the top to make them festive for Easter!

Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

*1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

*1/2 cup butter

*1/4 tsp baking soda

*1/2 cup sugar

*1 egg

*1 cup powdered sugar

*2 Tbs lemon juice

Directions: Cut butter info flour and baking soda. Beat egg until thick and lemon colored. Beat sugar in gradually. Combine flour mixture and egg, mixing dry ingredients into wet. Chill dough for at least 2 hours. Place small balls of dough onto baking sheet and press down to flatten with a greased bottom of a drinking glass. Bake at 375 for 8-10 min or until lightly brown. For icing, simply combine powdered sugar and lemon juice. When cool, dip tops of cookies into icing and let drip. Turn over and dust with sprinkles. Let dry before enjoying!

Today I am on a plane off to the farm to visit Daniel, Quince, Betty, and now my friend Matt who is helping out there this spring. SO excited! Get ready for some farming posts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter Cookies!

  1. Todd Heller says:

    These sound so good. Maybe I’ll convince Carrie to make them for me.

Leave a Reply

