An Easter Frittata

Happy Easter everyone!

I know I talked about traditions and memories in my last post about Passover- but Easter comes with almost as many traditions and memories for me. We always went to my Aunt and Uncle’s house where we had an Italian brunch of sorts- with egg frittatas and different pasta dishes. The thing I remember most is my Nana’s lamb cake- a pound cake made in a lamb mold- with tons of almond flavored icing all over. And raisins for eyes. My mom and I always liked to eat the head- cause there was the most groves and crevices for the icing to collect. Yum!

Since I’m here in San Diego and obviously away from my family in Chicago, I did my best this morning to at least semi-replicate Easter brunch. I made this frittata, or a Tortilla Espanola, for my roommates and I. If you can’t tell, from our BBQ we bought a HUGE bag of potatoes from costco and as I hate for any food to go to waste, I have been trying to use potatoes in any way possible.

I didn’t use a recipe ’cause I’ve made this/something like this a bunch of times- but this is what I did…

Tortilla Espanola:

Ingredients:

*6 eggs

*6 red potatoes, peeled and cut into disks/round slices

*1/2 onion, sliced thinly

*2 Tbs olive oil

*~1 Tbs kosher salt

Directions: Preheat your oven to 400. On a skillet over medium-high heat, begin to caramelize onions in 1 Tbs olive oil. While this is happening, begin slicing your potatoes. Have a bowl of water next to you, so that when the potatoes are cut, you soak them in cold water to prevent them from oxidizing. This also removes some starch. Add a bit more olive oil to the pan if it looks dry, and add your potatoes to the pan with the onions. Salt them. While this is all cooking (stir/flip your potatoes every few minutes), beat your eggs with a whisk in a small bowl. When your potatoes seem soft, but not fully cooked (they will continue cooking in the oven), pour the potatoes and eggs into a WELL GREASED baking dish, round preferably. Pour the eggs over the potatoes and onions. Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes, or until eggs are firm.

You should be able to invert this onto a plate if it was greased sufficiently, but I unfortunately didn’t. So I ate mine right side up. Oh well. Taste was the same!

If I can’t be home to experience the traditions of my past, might as well start traditions for the future. That’s what holidays are all about.

Now I have some sugar cookie dough chilling in the fridge… Better go tend to that 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

