My After Run Snack

I know I haven’t mentioned it in a while, but I am still training for the La Jolla 1/2 Marathon- On April 17th ( Next Sunday!)

I have really been focusing on fueling properly because I notice a HUGE difference in my runs when I don’t pay as much attention to what I’m eating.

Before my morning runs twice a week, which are about 4 miles long, I make a piece of raisin toast with almond butter, banana slices, and honey. I like that extra sugar to fuel the run- especially in the morning. You need the quick energy burst.

After my run, it’s all about the yogurt…

I usually eat this in the car on the way to work- always some low fat plain yogurt with fruit- this week organic blueberries were on sale. I love honey, so I usually put some on, and sometimes some nuts, if I’m extra hungry.

So good!

The rest of the day I stick to small meals- many of them. I don’t like to get super full- but I HATE having lack of energy, which tends to happen since my job requires me to be on my feet so much. Plus I have to deal with a lot of little kids, which is sooo unbelievably draining. Small meals is the way to go. Here are some examples:

-A wrap with tomato paste and one scrambled egg

-Rice with pesto

-Carrots with hummus

-Bowl of Kashi (or other hearty cereal) with almond milk

-Bowl of soup

-A fresh out of the oven cookie or scone I am very guilty of this working where I work… Oops! How do you possibly turn that down though!? Teach me how….please.

Basically I just think it’s important to get that sugar before the run and protein after- if nothing else.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

