Barley and Broccoli with Cashew Cream Sauce

I have been meaning to make this cashew cream sauce for some time now. I read about it on at least one of the many blogs I read daily, and it just sounded so delicious!

When I was at the farmers market the other day, the people over at Suzie’s Farm were nice enough to give me a bunch of broccoli, even though I only had 2 dollars left! I had some leftover barley in my pantry, and so I figured that a cashew cream sauce would be the perfect addition to round out this meal.

I cooked the barley like this:

Barley Pilaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup barley
  • 1/2 yellow onion, minced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 cups liquid (either veggie broth or water- I used a combo.)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt, Pepper to taste.

Directions: Add olive oil, onion, and garlic to pan and cook until it begins to brown. Add the barley, and toss the barley in the onions and garlic to coat. Add salt and pepper. Add your liquids. Stir. Taste your liquid. If it tastes good to you, cover, bring to a boil, then simmer for an hour.

I simply sauteed my broccoli in garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper- with a bit of water in the pan to get some steaming action going on.

…Now onto the main event. The Cashew CreamSauce.

This sauce is a great vegan option. It’s super easy too!

Cashew Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 lemon, squeezed
  • Salt, pepper, paprika to taste

Directions: Soak cashews overnight in water. Cashews will swell off and get very soft. When ready to use, simply pour cashews and water into food processor. Process until creamy, scraping down the sides of the bowl every once in a while. Add 1/2 a lemon, juiced, and your seasonings to taste.

Pour over your barley and broccoli- or pasta with asparagus- or lentil soup- or anything else you think may be good! To me, you can’t go wrong using this sauce!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

