French Toast

When my sister and I were little we loved Market Day french toast sticks. And Aunt Jemima toaster-oven french toast. Dipped in artificial maple syrup- we thought it was delicious.

Now I know better.

That wasn’t french toast at all.

This is the real deal:

And I made it all from scratch- from the bread and all.

I used this recipe and it came out perfectly. A whole wheat cinnamon swirl bread.

Look at that ooey gooey cinnamon sugar swirl. Mmmmm!

It was only right that I take a slice and make french toast with it. Right?

I made a mixture of 1 egg, 1 Tbs milk, dash of vanilla, dash of cinnamon, pinch of Kosher salt. And I let the bread slice sog that up.

Just spray a pan with Pam and over medium high heat, pan fry your french toast.

And use REAL maple syrup. None of that Log Cabin corn syrup artificial stuff. What a difference!

This french toast was perfect- no joke. Each fork full was perfectly spiced, just sweet enough, and the texture was one that can only be produced from fresh bread.

I made french toast twice now with the bread- and between my roommates and I- the loaf is pretty much gone- just the butt left. I guess I’ll have to make more- and stat!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to French Toast

  1. Todd Heller says:

    This sounds so good. I am going to have to convince Carrie to make for me!

  2. Emily says:

    I am totally taking this cinnamon swirl bread recipe (although, I will most definitely be modifying it a tad bit). I love cinnamon bread!!

Leave a Reply

