Classic Spaghetti and Marinara

Sunday is for comfort food.

This is leftover fresh whole wheat spaghetti that I had frozen after making 1/2 of it last time.

After thawing it, it was good as new. I made just a basic marinara with garlic, onion, carrot, tomato paste, and tomato puree. I also added some olive oil, salt, pepper, and oregano. That was about it. When the past was cooked to Al Dente, I added it into the simmering sauce and let it finish in there. It soaked up just enough of the sauce to make the dish so perfect.

Fresh pasta is not as chewy as boxed, dried pasta. It more breaks apart easily in your mouth, and is almost doughier. In a great way. On Christmas we always have gnocchi, and we buy them fresh at this Italian market. They always taste so great, so much better than any other pasta- and I now realize why. After all these years. Fresh pasta is the trick.

I sat on my couch and watched TV with my roommate, big bowl of pasta in hand. Sprinkled with parmesan and added some giardinara. MmMmMm. I ate every last drop in my bowl. And cannot wait for leftovers…

There’s nothing as good as the classics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

