Spiced Chickpea Burgers

Hi! Happy Monday šŸ™‚

Here’s a very healthy recipe for you- I am so lucky to have a new kitchen to cook in šŸ™‚ What a difference that makes…

Vegan Spiced Chickpea Burgers!

On the side is some sauteed zucchini… and some spicy oil. Yum. On top? Tahini sauce. Mmmm…

Spiced Chickpea Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 2 carrots, peeled
  • 1 handful walnuts
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 Tbs water
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika

Method: Preheat oven to 400. Combine all ingredients in food processor. Process until smooth. Form into patties with your hand. I got 3 patties out of this recipe. Place on parchment paper on baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes, then flip and bake another 15 minutes. You will get a nice crust, and you should be able to pick up the burger without it breaking. Eat on a bun with lettuce and tomato, or with some sauteed vegetables on the side. It’s great with some tahini or some hummus too!

This recipe is so good for you, with the minimal amount of fat and the high amount of non- animal protein found between the oats and the chickpeas. Plus it has carrots and great spices! It’s a great recipe- go make it— now!!!

As far as my 1/2 marathon training goes- I did my first “long” run yesterday- 4 miles- Felt so great I forgot how much I love to run! Crazy I will be increasing my long run by a mile a week- last time I trained it was a mile every 2 weeks. But, we’ll see how it goes… A lot more focus will have to be applied- and no slacking/walking on my runs!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

