Any Way You Like It Tortilla Soup

This is not your average tortilla soup. This soup started out by gathering some ingredients I had in my fridge. I looked at an onion, some garlic, some kale, green onions, tomato paste, a stack of corn tortillas, carrots, and (frozen) corn…I decided that Mexican would be the way to go with this. So I started chopping and throwing stuff into a big pot. First went the carrots, garlic, and onion (salt, pepper, olive oil). Then a big spoonful of tomato paste. Let that cook a bit and added a lot of cumin…

Added the kale, a can of diced tomatoes, a pinch of cinnamon and dash of cayenne, some hot sauce, the corn and finally my secret (well, surprising) ingredients: raisins and strips of corn tortillas. I brought it all to a boil, then let it simmer for about a half hour.

The flavors all came together so nicely, and the raisins really plumped up. They looked like black beans by the time the soup was done!

I topped the soup with some shredded Mexican cheese and some sliced green onions.

It would have been great like that…BUT here are 2 variations for you…

1. Ladle it over black beans and brown rice (you can use canned or whatever you have BUT the other day I made this by adding 1 cup dried black beans and 1 cup brown rice to a pot with 4 cups of water and some salt. Brought it to a boil and I let that simmer for an hour and a half. The rice turns black from the black beans in there, and the combination of the two cooking together is just so much better than the two alone!)

(Not the best picture, sorry!)

2. Spoon it over 1/2 a baked sweet potato (just wrap a sweet potato in foil and throw it into a 400 degree oven for an hour.)

All together this soup is incredibly hearty with all those vegetables- and it is also very low fat. It has tons of fiber to keep you full and the flavor just warms you up!

Feel free to play with this soup- I didn’t include exact measurements for 2 reasons. 1. I don’t know how much I used. 2. Make your own using any ingredients YOU have.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

