Aw Snap! Ginger Snap Pumpkin Pie

Is anyone having a food hangover? I hate those… But I hope your Thanksgiving dinners went well and everything!

This is what I made for Thanksgiving…

Ginger Snap Cookies…

…Turned into a pie crust…

And filled with pumpkin pie filling!

I made this recipe myself, based on a few recipes I read. The verdict? SOOOO tasty- like one of the best tasting things I’ve made. Really.

However, the method needs to be tweaked. I made notes in my recipe notebook, so next time it should turn out perfect.

Things I did wrong:

1. I should have pushed the crust all the way up the side of the pan.

2. I should have beat the egg before I added it to the wet ingredients, or mixed it with a beater, not just a fork.

3. I should make homemade whipped cream! Not just use some plain yogurt to mock it 😉

Yeah yeah yeah… here’s the recipe though. Do as I say, not as I did. You will be very very happy with the taste of this recipe, and the fact that really, it’s not so bad for you!

Ginger Snap Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 8 Tbs butter (1 stick), melted
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup black strap molasses
  • 1 C all purpose flour
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tbs ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • turbinado sugar, for rolling

Method: Combine all wet ingredients in a bowl. In a larger bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Mix all together, put in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight. Preheat oven to 350. Spray baking sheet and also spray the bottom of a water glass. Roll dough into balls, roll balls into turbinado sugar, then flatten onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 12 minutes. When done, turn off oven and let the cookies sit on the baking rack, (as seen in photo above), with oven door open. This allows cookies to dry out, and allows that snap that we want!

Pumpkin Pie

Crust Ingredients:

  • 2 cups ginger snaps, crushed
  • 2 Tbs butter, melted
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar.

Method: Preheat oven to 350. Combine ingredients in bowl and mix until texture of sand. Press into pie pan, all the way up the sides of the pan. Bake for 10 minutes. Let cool.

Filling Ingredients:

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup almond milk (or other milk will do)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 Tbs corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cloves

Method: Oven should be at 350. If it’s not, preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients in bowl, pour into cooled ginger snap crust, and bake for 40 minutes until filling is set. It should not jiggle when you shake the pie pan. Let this cool completely before slicing into it and enjoying.

…I didn’t use all the ginger snap cookie dough, so I labeled and froze it for another day…

…Which was a good move considering I’ve eaten almost 1/2 the pie already…oh boy…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

