Comforting Pasta Dinner

It’s that time of the year. That time when everyone becomes a bit lazier and wants to spend more time cuddling up in a blanket on the couch than running around outside. It gets dark way too early now, and dinner becomes the highlight of the night (…even more so than usual!). Dinner and TV that is.

In the cooler temperatures I crave comfort food. Food that warms your body and your soul. Food that reminds you of good times and happy memories.

For me, a nice spaghetti dinner does the trick.

But instead of regular white spaghetti, I opted for whole wheat. Because I really can’t taste much of a difference anyway…

I used what I had on hand, because like I mentioned in my last post, I am keeping a budget in mind. This means I have to get creative and use the fresh ingredients I buy in many different ways. There is nothing that bothers me more than having to throw food out!

So while the water was boiling for the pasta, I started sauteing some garlic and tomatoes in olive oil.

After the garlic became fragrant, I added some spinach…

…which really wilts down in no time!

This tomato-spinach-garlic mixture simmered and reduced, flavors melding and thickening as the pasta cooked…

Instead of dirtying a pasta strainer, I like to use a spaghetti spoon, the one that looks like a claw?- to take the pasta out of one pot and put it into the saute pan with the vegetables.

I stirred that up, the heat still on mind you, and added some feta.

Simple enough. And oh so comforting.

Now if only I had some crusty bread to go along side…

Or maybe it’s better I don’t ;). Check out that steam!

And for dessert? Some pastries from the bakery I am working at now

…Everything is SO good there it’s not even fair. Above is pumpkin pie, red velvet cake, and a madeline. They want me to try everything so I can explain to customers what things taste like. Ut oh… This could get dangerous, fast… My roomates better help me eat all of this, that’s all I have to say!

Onto the recipe…

Spinach, Feta, and Tomato Spaghetti

**This recipe is for a single serving.**

Ingredients:

  • 1 small handful whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • red chili flakes (optional)
  • salt, pepper to taste

Method: Boil large pot of water. In the meantime, saute garlic and tomato in olive oil with some salt and pepper. Add spinach (and red chili flakes) and let this simmer while you wait for the water to boil and for the pasta to cook. Once the pasta is cooked, add the pasta to the saute pan and toss the pasta with the vegetables. Finish by adding the feta and mixing it all together. Enjoy on a cold, cozy evening on a couch under a blanket!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comforting Pasta Dinner

  1. Rhona Robbin says:

    Looks yummy! I’m going to make the Spinach, Feta & Tomato Spaghetti this week.
    Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  2. Emma says:

    I just made this for dinner and it was so yummy!! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

