Back in the Kitchen

For anyone that may be a bit confused, I am done working on organic farms (for now) and I am living in San Diego. I have some plans for work, cooking, and gardening, and I’m excited for things to start to fall into place. More on all that as it unfolds…

For now, let’s get back to my tried and true breakfast…

Oatmeal!

The way I make my oatmeal is a way I swear by. Here’s how it goes…

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal and oatbran mix (This is the trick. Try it!)
  • 1 cup almond milk (or regular milk)
  • Toppings! Be creative- I like a mix of fruit, honey, nuts, and nut butters.

Method: Put oatmeal, oatbran, and almond milk in small pot. Bring it to a boil, and stir pretty constantly to develop the creaminess you want. Pour into a bowl, and top with whatever you have on hand- Above: 1/2 banana, peanut butter, raw almonds, and a drizzle of honey. Mmm mmm… Makes me look forward to waking up every morning!

And now onto some real comfort food. And food that is real budget friendly too (because now more than ever a budget is on my mind!)

Lentil bowl with rice and butternut squash

This started with my classic lentil soup recipe. 1 onion, 2 carrots, a bay leaf, and 2 garlic cloves.

The only other ingredients besides water, salt, pepper, and olive oil?  Canned tomatoes and of course, lentils!

Lentils you can buy in bulk and they are SO cheap! Lentils used to be considered peasant fare due to how inexpensive they are, yet how much nutritional value they contain. Awesome.

So add the vegetables, lentils, and a bit of olive oil to a big pot over medium heat. Season it up.

After about 3 minutes, add a can of tomato sauce, then use that can to add 6 can fulls of water to the pot.

Bring this up to a boil, then down to a simmer, and put a lid on it.

Let this cook for about an hour. The lentils will absorb much of the liquid.

 

At this point, add some greens- I added spinach, but kale would be preferred, or some swiss chard- mmm!

In the meantime…

Slice that guy up and place on olive oiled baking sheet at 375 for about 40 minutes.

I removed the seeds and toasted them on their own- they are like pumpkin seeds!

Okay so I am not familiar with this oven yet, and I thought I had turned it off, but apparently I hadn’t. (I was leaving the squash in the oven even though it was “off” just to stay warm while I went to my interview!) So my squash accidentally cooked for about an hour and a half- and it got quite caramelized!

It was actually delicious- and I kind of want to recommend this to you? Either way will work just fine though. This caramelized/bordering on burnt way is tough to cube up, which was the original goal…

Last night I made some rice just cause I was watching TV and, well, haven’t you found that rice is never ready when you want it? I am trying to circumvent that problem.

So, there you have it. Just scoop it all into a bowl together- I topped mine with some craisins and cinnamon. So great. Such great fall flavors that will only get better by the day!

…Cause I sure have a lot of leftovers…

On a separate note entirely, have you seen the new Subaru commercial? I am obsessed with the song, so I googled it, and I thought I’d share:

Powerful Stuff by Sean Hayes

ALSO, check out this new webiste if you are interested in farmers’ markets in your area: Real Time Farms. Finally a place to post some of my market photos! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the Kitchen

  1. bet365 says:

    hi I was luck to discover your blog in wordpress
    your Topics is superb
    I obtain much in your topic really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really fabulous
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

