Easy Mexican Dinner

Tuesday night I was craving something spicy! Mexican food for dinner it was!

Well, actually I started with a version of a Spanish rice. My pictures didn’t come so well, the lighting was pretty bad I apologize!

But I started by sauteing garlic, onion, carrot, and the rice in some olive oil with salt and pepper. In traditional Spanish rice I believe they fry the rice. This kind of mocks that method and saves you some calories as well.

After that sautes for a while, add 1 cup diced tomatoes- try to use up any that are getting soft and possibly going bad.

Add 2 cups of water and let this boil then simmer for about 50 minutes. Don’t touch the rice as it cooks! At the end add some oregano and some peas…

Since the rice takes the longest, I started on that first. Next I got to work (not that it was much work at all) slicing some Horno de Toro peppers from out back (so into these right now.) I just sliced those and some onions, sprinkled them with cumin and some cayenne, salt and pepper, then drizzled with olive oil. Placed in a cast iron skillet in a 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes…

And they were so sweet and spicy…this is my new favorite way to roast vegetables for sure!

Next, I started on my 2 ingredient refried beans.

These are the closest I’ve gotten to making refried beans like you get at the Mexican restaurants (the ones I can easily eat 10 servings of!)

Start by placing some chopped garlic at the bottom of a skillet with some olive oil.

After that heats for a bit, just add a whole can of black beans, UNDRAINED.

Let that heat up, then just mash with the tool below, or just a fork would do!

Yum! So not counting olive oil. or any salt and pepper for seasonings, it’s a 2 ingredient refried black bean recipe!

Lastly, you gotta have a salad…

I made some pretty great fajitas with those beans and vegetables- plus I made some (unpictured) tofu for some protein.

I think the only recipe I can really post is for the Spanish Rice!

Vegetarian Spanish Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes (you can use canned)
  • 1/2 cup peas (I used frozen)
  • Salt, Pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp oregano

Directions: Saute garlic, onions, carrot, and rice in the olive oil over medium heat. Let this cook for about 5 minutes. Add your tomatoes, oregano, and water, bring to a boil, give it a stir, then let sit, simmering with lid on for about 50 minutes (or read your bag of rice for how long it has to cook.) After cooked, add your frozen peas. The heat  of the pan and rice will soften them. Season to your liking.

Enjoy next time you’re craving something spicy! Don’t forget to add hot sauce!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Mexican Dinner

  1. Shar Wolff says:

    I am so loving your blog. You go girl! I’m going to try your refried black bean recipe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

