Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

I hope you’re not sick of my soup posts yet ’cause I’m just getting started.

I love soups! And I love cooking soups! They’re SO easy- seriously hard to mess up- and you can be SO creative with them. Add whatever vegetables you have on hand- especially those vegetables that are questionably good anymore- plus you can really experiment with spices and grains.

Plus, who doesn’t want a huge bowl of soup on these chilly evenings?

So this soup is a variation on the classic split pea soup- a soup that usually contains ham and is rarely vegetarian, I’ve found. Not to worry though, this version is just as good as better than it’s meat opponent.

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups spilt peas (I used 1/2 green, 1/2 yellow)
  • 1 cup diced potatoes
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp pepper (yes, use pepper as an ingredient in this one!)
  • 5 cups vegetable broth

Method: Soak your split peas in some water for anywhere from an hour to overnight- the longer the better. Over medium heat, heat up garlic and onion. Add your soaked split peas, potatoes, salt, and pepper. Add your broth. Bring it to a boil, then down to a simmer. Let it go for about 2 hours. When your peas and potatoes are cooked, they will release a starch and soften. You will be able to  use a potato masher inside of the pot to mash and make into a creamy consistency. Re-taste for saltiness. Chances are you will need to add some salt.

Serve with some saltine crackers and enjoy on a rainy day 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

  1. Carlyle says:

    YAY! Can’t wait to make this! I have had a bag of split peas in my cabinet forever, not knowing what to do with them. Would red skinned potatoes work? That’s all I have in my fridge.

    • jamela224 says:

      yayy dont u love getting rid of things that have been sitting around for too long!? yes use red skin potatoes that’ll work!- skins and all- make it easy! let me know how it goes 🙂 xo

  2. Lisa says:

    A couple suggestions for you. If you anticipate making lots of soups. Buy yourself an immersion (stick) blender. You just dip it in the pot to thicken a soup but leave it chunky or stir it around for a perfectly smooth soup. They are awesome.

    Also, I’ve noticed that a several of your recipes call for vegetable broth. I like some better than others. My favorite is Imagine brand’s No-Chikn broth. I buy it by the case when it goes on sale. 🙂

Leave a Reply

