Granola

Whelp, I’m leaving today.

I made some granola last night for a plane snack, and also some to leave for my parents.

I’m going to California with my friend Carrie, and she is allergic to nuts. So, in the spirit of sharing, I made a nut free granola.

I started with oats, pumpkin seeds, unsweetened coconut, salt, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice.

And some canola oil, maple syrup, and honey.

Mix wet into dry. Spread onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

When it comes out of the oven, it won’t be totally crispy. Wait ’til it cools. The crunch will happen.

I added dried cranberries after it was pretty much cooled.

And I packed it into a ball jar for my parents.

I think this will be delicious on top of some oatmeal in the morning!

I tried some in some almond milk with some sliced nectarines. It was SOOO good!!! And SO easy to make! Please try this instead of store-buying your granola next time!

Jamela’s Nut-Free Granola

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cups oats (I used Quaker)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 3/4 cup pepitas/pumpkin seeds
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tbs pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbs honey (I used raw)
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Mix dry ingredients in bowl. Mix wet ingredients in another. Pour wet over dry, and mix to combine. Pour onto greased (sprayed) baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Let cool- It will crisp up as it cools. After cooling, add dried cranberries. Pack in air-tight container.

Enjoy like cereal, over oatmeal, over yogurt, or just as a snack!

**Feel free to adjust the dried fruit and nuts to your liking. And spices as well. Just play with whatever you like and create your personal granola!**

With some homemade granola in hand, California here we come!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Granola

  1. Pingback: San Francisco Day 1 | jamelafamela

  2. I have a severe peanut allergy and I never thought of making my own nut free granola. You make it look so simple, easy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

