Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Fact: One can of pumpkin puree lasts a long time! Every recipe as of late that involved pumpkin has come from just one can. I had a bit of it left, and just had to use it up. What better way than to make cookies!?

I officially am done with work and just running some last minutes errands this week before my move to California. I ran to my office yesterday just to check emails and clear my desk, so I thought my coworkers would enjoy some freshly baked cookies while I was in!

I haven’t used the kitchen-aid to bake at all lately. I forgot how easy it makes everything!

And it really isn’t much more cleaning to do either.

I could tell as soon as I started mixing my ingredients that this was gonna be a good recipe. Between the oats, pumpkin, spices, and 2 sticks of butter- how can you go wrong ;)!

I love rolling dough into little even balls and placing it on the baking sheet. Something very therapeutic about it…

Lucky for me I’ll get to do it again tomorrow because I only baked half! This means fresh cookies again!!!

These cookies turned out great.

They were soft in the middle and browned nicely underneath.

The pumpkin and spices really came through. And the pinch of salt in the recipe was a nice contrast to the otherwise very sweet dough.

While the cookies cooled, I made some icing. The recipe didn’t call for this, but hey, what isn’t better with icing!? Icing is just about the easiest thing to make- just powdered sugar and liquid- and flavorings if you so choose. I made a cinnamon spice icing to complement the cookies!

The cookies MUST BE COMPLETELY COOL before you ice them. Otherwise the icing will just get absorbed.

I just drizzled the icing with a knife. This ensures a straighter line, as opposed to how a spoon can sometimes drop a lot at once.

I couldn’t wait to taste these! And once I did I couldn’t wait to share them at the office. ‘Cause what’s the fun of baking if you’re not gonna give some of the goodness away!?

This recipe was a keeper.

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Adapted from pickycook

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 spelt flour)
  • 2 1/3 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter – softened (Mine was frozen so I microwaved in 15 second intervals flipping after each 15 seconds until just soft. This worked just fine.)
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Cinnamon spice icing (see below for recipe)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with some parchment paper or a silpat. In a kitchen-aid mixer, or with a hand mixer, combine the butter, the honey, and the sugars until creamy. Add the pumpkin, egg, and vanilla. Mix until uniform. Mix your dry ingredients in a larger bowl. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Mix until incorporated with a rubber spatula. Refrigerate the dough for about 30 minutes. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto un-greased baking sheet, 1-2″ apart. Bake for 15 minutes, remove from oven, and transfer to cooking rack. Let completely cool before icing!

Cinnamon Spice Icing

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbs milk (I used almond milk)- you may need more if icing is too thick.
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of pumpkin pie spice

Directions: Just mix all of the ingredients in small bowl. If it is too thick, add more milk. If too thin, add powdered sugar. You can’t mess this up.

Honestly, if there’s one recipe you want to try this fall- make these. You will not be disappointed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pingback: Muted Beach Day | jamelafamela

  2. Pingback: Challah! | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

