Navy Bean Soup in the Crock Pot

I found a kitchen gadget that’s in close competition with the food processor in terms of how much I like using it.

The CROCK POT!

Oh. My. God. It is so easy and care-free to use! Simply put your ingredients in, turn it on, and play the waiting game! You can’t mess it up!

I decided to make a Navy Bean Soup as a test recipe.

Started with a typical soup base of carrots, garlic, onion, and celery.

Other ingredients are pictured below.

Dump it all into the machine.

Add some water and fill about 3/4 to the top.

And then we wait…

After about 5 hours…

This came out much better than expected, due to my lack of recipe and all. I love Navy Bean soup and while I was organizing my pantry I came across a bunch of dry navy beans, some of which wouldn’t fit into the jar. It was kinda driving me nuts so I knew I had to do something about it. Navy Bean Soup it was!

Navy Bean Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Navy Beans
  • 1/2 cup Farro (barley or rice would also work fine here)
  • 1 can tomato puree (see above) plus 5 cans water.
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 garlic gloves, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 springs thyme
  • salt, pepper to taste

Directions: Add everything to crock pot. Put on 4 hours high. But you may need more time. Just taste and make sure beans and grains are cooked through. Remove the bay leaf and enjoy!

Note: If you make as much as this recipe calls for, you may need to freeze some- but it will keep for a while and you will be very happy on that cold fall evening when you remember to remove it from the freezer before work! 🙂

I am SO happy to have discovered a new kitchen tool! I can imagine you can even start a soup (or chili) before work and put it on for 8 hours to come back to a home cooked meal, and a deliciously fragrant smelling home.

Do you have any favorite crock pot recipes???

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Navy Bean Soup in the Crock Pot

  1. Mere says:

    We use the crock-pot for everything!! World’s Best Invention!

    I like cooking brisket in the crock-pot…

    4-5 lb brisket – 1st cut
    1 pkg onion soup mix
    1 jar bennets chili sauce
    1/2 cup brown sugar
    1-2 large onions sliced

    I start by searing the brisket on all sides (for like 5-10 minutes each side – just until it gets a nice seared look). Then I take the brisket out of the pan and just put it on a plate or set it up in the slow cooker. I saute the onions in the pan I just seared the brisket in until they are soft (about ten minutes).

    While you are doing all of that, Mix the soup mix, chili sauce, brown sugar in a bowl. Put the brisket in the slow cooker with the onions on top and pour the sauce over the meat. You can cook it on high for 4-6 hours, or on low if you are cooking for 8-10 hours.

Leave a Reply

