Quick Weekend Recipes

Just a few quick recipes for you- I’ve been SO busy this weekend packing up for California so I haven’t been taking many pictures. But here are some quick recipes for some things I threw together recently.

Fall Kale Saute

I had a bunch of kale in the fridge and didn’t feel like the usual kale chips. Instead I made what I will call a fall kale saute, mostly because of the colors though 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of kale
  • 1/8 cup craisins (1 handful)
  • 1/8 cup raisins (1 handful)
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • salt, pepper to taste

Directions: Add kale, oil, and balsamic to pan. When it starts to wilt, add almonds, raisins, craisins.

I wasn’t expecting this to be as flavorful as it was. I’ll definitely be making this again! The sweetness of the raisins and craisins is such a nice contrast to the slightly bitter kale.

And the almonds give it a nice crunch!

For dinner Friday night I added this to a side of scrambled eggs and the last of the roasted vegetables from Rosh Hashana. Topped it with parmesan cheese too. YUM!

Moving on…

Pumpkin Black Bean Burgers

Since I had some pumpkin to use up, I decided to put a new spin to my favorite black bean burgers.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup pepitas/pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs cumin
  • salt, pepper to taste

Directions: Put all ingredients in bowl and mash together with fork or potato masher. Form into patties. Heat up a skillet over medium high heat. Spray with olive oil. Place patties on skillet and cook about 3 minutes per side until browned and heated through.

(Added pumpkin seeds after picture was taken.)

The great thing about this recipe vs. the regular black bean burgers is that this one requires no food processor!

These were really good- I loved the crunch the pumpkin seeds provided! I would have added more pumpkin, but the recipe I posted accounts for that.

You really can’t ask for an easier, healthier, quicker recipe than that! These arguably take less time than Morning Star or any other brand of frozen veggie burgers- especially considering the leftovers take just seconds to heat up! Plus you don’t have a laundry-list of ingredients and all those preservatives and sodium going into your body!

Lastly, this is my newest coffee fix inspired from Allie’s blog.

A pumpkin spice late!

Just make your coffee as usual, and stir in some pumpkin butter (Trader Joe’s of course :)), milk or cream (almond milk was what I used), and a dash of cinnamon. It is totally comprable to Starbucks’, and it’s a fraction of the cost PLUS you can control the sweetness! I find it doesn’t need sugar since the pumpkin butter has sugar in it.

Hope you are having a great weekend— back to packing and a potential bike ride— it’s SO nice out today!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

