Shana Tova!

Happy New Year!

Ahh a fresh start, a good chance to reflect on this past year. That’s one good part of being Jewish- we get 2 fresh starts since the Jewish calendar is different 🙂 No but really, a new year really makes you think back on what’s happened over the course of a year. I truly hope that this past year has been good to everybody, and that this next year brings nothing but good health and happiness.

These next 10 days in the Jewish religion are about reflection and repenting for any sins. We then celebrate Yom Kippur, fast for a day, then break the fast and vow to do better this next year. I will post on my reflections when that time comes…

But for now, I will reflect on this past day.

Another brisk yet sunny morning. You can’t beat the sensation of waking up to a fresh breeze from an open bedroom window, and the sun flooding in as soon as you draw the shades. And of course, the excitement of yet another autumn inspired breakfast.

Maple Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal it was.

Start with 1/2 apple cubed with just a tad of almond milk. Add cinnamon. Let this simmer for a bit to soften the apple.

Add 1/4 cup oats, 1/4 cup oatbran, 1 cup almond milk. Bring to boil. Let thicken.

Served with 1 chopped date, homemade almond butter, and a drizzle of maple syrup.

Tastes like fall!

Lunch was cornbread n’ chili.

I gotta post the recipe for this cornbread next. It’s made with a very uncommon ingredient… And it’s not the jalepeno you see in there!

And for snack this pear…

…Which obviously made me think of this clip from It’s Always Sunny. Makes me laugh sooo hard every time!

When I got home from work my papas were already over to celebrate the holiday!

I always look forward to family holidays- they just bring back past memories and good times together since we were little.

Like many Jewish holidays, we started with Challah.

My dad made everything below, unless I indicate differently.

He made Matzo Ball Soup with Chicken broth from scratch.

Well, I didn’t eat the soup. Chicken broth. Oh well.

Followed by a FEAST of amazing food!

Salmon…

Brisket…

Roasted vegetables and potatoes…

Kasha

Tomato zucchini casserole made by my Auntie Sally…

(Sorry lighting is so off!)

This was my plate…

mmm….

And of course, dessert!

My Auntie Ghee made a pistachio pound cake.

We also had some of my chocolate cookies from the other night. I actually refrigerated some dough and re-made them fresh for today!

And last but CERTAINLY not least…

(A VERY poorly taken picture…)

Apples and Honey— a very typical thing to eat on Rosh Hashana to signify a SWEET New Year. 🙂

This entry was posted in Chocolate, dates, eggplant, family, holidays, Homemade, oatmeal, potatoes, recipes, Soup, veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shana Tova!

  1. I’m not Jewish, but I love reading about other traditions and the meaning of the holidays! Looks like it was a yummy meal and a great time with family!

  2. diana @ i can eat, cant i? says:

    i’m new to your blog, hiii! i just gotta say wow, what a beautiful feast. i had matzo soup last night, it was my 2nd time and totally enjoying it! i love your dining decor!

    • jamela224 says:

      hi diana! thanks for reading! yes, matzo ball soup is realllllly good. i wish less soups were made with chicken broth though 😦 it’s one tough part about being vegetarian. when i make it myself it will be veggie based for sure! glad you like the dining decor- i believe it’s my parents’ from forever ago!

  3. Pingback: Quick Weekend Recipes | jamelafamela

  4. Pingback: New Years Reflections | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

