Vegetarian Chili

As the cooler days approach, my cravings completely change. Instead of salads I’m turning to soups. In last night’s case, vegetarian chili!

If you ask me my favorite thing to cook, I might just tell you soups. They’re hard to mess up first of all, you can make a ton and freeze some, they make great leftovers/easy lunches, and the best part: you only need 1 pot, 1 knife, 1 spoon, and 1 cutting board. Can’t beat the clean up!

Start with a ton of vegetables- be creative- chose your favorites. Chose what’s in season. Go crazy. 😉

I chose sweet potatoes, eggplant, onion, garlic, zucchini, squash, swiss chard, corn, carrot, and red pepper. Tried to get a little of each color.

You will also need some canned items, such as beans and some tomatoes.

Start with a bit of oilve oil at the bottom of a big pot. Add your garlic and onions to begin. While those are going, start chopping your vegetables into like-size pieces. Maybe quarter-inch cubes. But by NO means should you attempt to be exact. That’s the beauty of making soups!  Add the vegetables bit by bit into the pot, stirring to let each vegetable have its chance at cooking at the bottom of the pot. Add your swiss chard last. This will take the least time to cook.

By the time you have chopped and added all your vegetables to the pot, and salted and peppered to taste, some liquid should have come out of the vegetables and you should almost be cooking in a broth of sorts. At this point, add your spices. I added cumin, chipotle pepper, cayenne pepper, cinnamon (trust me on this one), and paprika for smokiness. Toss the vegetables again to incorporate these spices. (mmm doesn’t it smell nice already!)

Add your drained and rinsed beans as well as your 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Turn the heat up, bring to a boil, then down to a simmer. Cover. Cook for a half hour or so.

This soup will just become more and more flavorful the longer you cook it.

Last night I took this chili a bit further. Because Lisi had ordered such good enchiladas at dinner the other night, I had to try and recreate it. I turned the vegetable chili into vegetable enchiladas, putting my tomatillo salsa to good use.

Step 1: Fill a corn tortilla with a spoonful or 2 of the chili.

Step 2: Spoon some tomatillo salsa at the bottom of a baking dish. Lay the filled tortillas, fold side down, in a row.

Step 3: Spoon more salsa over the top, and also add some mexican cheese of your liking. We had some cojita cheese on hand, so I used that.

Step 4: Bake at 400 for 10 minutes.

Pardon the dark pictures- natural light is really key in good photography. Really hard to take good pictures at night!

However, these enchiladas were amazing. When I made 3, I assumed my parents would be eating with me. Little did I know, my dad already ate while cooking for Rosh Hashana tonight, and my mom ate too much salty popcorn and left no room for dinner :(. While I reasonably assumed I’d have leftover enchiladas, somehow all 3 dissapeared before my eyes! 😉

For dessert, I made something I haven’t made in a while, mostly due to not wanting to dirty the food processor.

BANANA “ICE CREAM”! I forgot how amazing this is…

Doesn’t that look like ice cream? Tricked ya! It’s just a frozen banana+1tbs unsweetened cocoa powder. Add those 2 things to a food processor and process until-well-until it looks like ice cream! (And tastes JUST like it too- promise!)

I ate the ice cream while watching my new show, the Big C- on Showtime with Laura Linney. SO good!

I have another recipe to show you later for using that vegetarian chili. But I’ll save it for later…

For now, it’s Rosh Hashana! (well, at sundown.) In case I don’t write before that- L’Shana Tova- Or happy new year!

This entry was posted in banana, Chocolate, eggplant, Healthy, snacks, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetarian Chili

  1. Hmm, I think I need to make some banana “ice cream” tonight. It’s been like a year and I have a million frozen bananas in my freezer!
    Those enchiladas look incredible!!

  2. Pingback: Shana Tova! | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

