Where did the THYME go?

Can you believe it’s September 1st? I felt like it was just the fourth of July yesterday! That was 2 months ago? You’ve GOT to be kidding me. Where did the time go?

There are signs of fall all around, from the autumn themed  recipes I see on foodgawker every day, to the leaves I crunch with my gym shoes while running in the mornings, to the pumpkin spotting at the farmers’ market Saturday. It’s really nice actually, and I’m very excited for the weather to cool down a bit.

Speaking of THYME- I made great parmesan thyme potato crisps tonight...

I started by slicing these beautiful purple potatoes from the farmers’ market last week. I sliced them as thin as I could, because the thinner the crispier. I used a sil pat to prevent them from sticking. I sprayed the top with olive oil spray, sprinkled with salt, pepper, and THYME. I loveee thyme!

Purple crispy potatoes!

Once they were just about baked I added some parmesan cheese on top.

Parmesan cheese makes everything better!

Mmm bubbly goodness.

I forgot my new camera at work today, so this is from my old camera. 😦

I paired my potatoes with eggs because eggs+potatoes=an incredible combination. I just scrambled 1 full egg+about 1/4 cup egg whites from the carton. Salt and pepper.

To make it look like it was from a restaurant, I put some fresh cut melon on the side:

Pretending my kitchen is a restaurant 🙂

For good measure, and also to use up vegetables from the fridge, I made a big ol’ salad.

A signature "clear the fridge" salad

In that salad went spinach, red pepper, red onion (which should be called purple onion, if you ask me), cucumber, (frozen) corn, the remainder of an open can of chickpeas, 1 apple from the farmers’ market (as my mom says, the apple tastes like she just picked it off a tree!), craisins, parsley, and some pumpkin seeds.

I dressed the salad with a squeeze of lemon (to use it up), a bit of olive oil, some balsamic, salt, and pepper.

Between the flavors of thyme and those pumpkin seeds in the salad, I felt like I was really getting into the fall food mood. I think it’s so cool how each season has its own unique foods. It’s fun to use what’s in season. Not only will your food taste better, but if you buy locally you are really doing this planet a huge favor. Sure, you can get strawberries in the winter. But they probably flew a few thousand miles to get to you. And that plane polluted the air. A lot. I know this isn’t gonna change things for most of us- I know I’ll probably still eat strawberries in December- BUT- its good to think about how your food is getting to you. Where did it come from? How did it arrive on your plate? Eat mindfully. Slow down. It’s all part of the slow food movement. If nothing else I think it’s worth learning/reading a bit about…

Anyway, I made another really good fall recipe tonight. It’s got pumpkin pie spice and maple syrup, and I’m really excited about it 🙂 More on that tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where did the THYME go?

  1. Ram says:

    That looks scrumptious. And I love the name Jamela Famela!

  2. Pingback: Food fights: Locavores, conventional food fans battle over benefits | jamelafamela

  3. I love the blog! I’ve never heard of purple potatoes!!

  4. A company in the UK did make crisps with purple potatoes for a while then stopped. They always looked much more interesting than normal crisps.

Leave a Reply

