DateBites

It’s nothing new that this summer I’ve been OBSESSED with dates. They, to me, are the perfect snack/workout fuel/dessert. I made these the other day too, but I tweaked my recipe a bit this time. Last time I made “oatmeal cookie” like “laraballs”, but last night I not only did that recipe a tad differently, but I tried a new flavor too. Banana bread.

I also decided I should change the name. Laraballs are—well, it’s been done. How about for now we call them DateBites? OK? Cool.

Start with some dates, roughly chopped…

And some nuts…

Pecans

See the other post for more details. But this is what I used for the banana flavor: 

I think dried fruit is the only way to go with these things. Fruit. Nuts. Spices. That’s all!

Oatmeal Cookie DateBites

It’s really important to roll these DateBites in something whether it be unsweetened coconut, cocoa powder, wheat germ, etc. Keeps the balls from sticking together.

DateBites YUM

Recipe time!

Banana Bread DateBites:

Ingredients:

  • about 10 medjool dates, pitted, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup walnuts- separated in half
  • 2 strips dried bananas
  • cocoa powder for rolling

Directions: Place banana, 1/4 cup walnuts, and dates in food processor. Process until combined, about 30 seconds. Place (very sticky) mixture into bowl. Fold in other 1/4 cup of walnut pieces by hand. Lick your fingers. Does it taste good? Good. Now wash your hands. Take mixture by the spoonful, roll into balls, roll in cocoa powder. Store in fridge.

Oatmeal Cookie DateBites

Ingredients:

  • about 10 medjool dates, pitted, roughly chopped 
  • 1/2 cup pecans, divided in half
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut, plus more for rolling
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats, raw
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions: Process dates, 1/4 cup pecans, 1/4 cup coconut, and cinnamon in food processor until evenly combined. About 30 seconds. Place into another bowl, add in oats and the rest of the pecans. Roll little bits of the mixture into more coconut. Store in the fridge.

These DateBites are by no means low calorie. They are sugar and fat dense- between the highly sweet dates and fatty coconut and nuts-but they are still all natural. I wouldn’t eat more than 1 or 2 of these a day, and I like to eat them right before I work out- or if I’m on a long run or bike ride, I’ll bring one with me. One thing I know for sure though- They are delicious! 🙂

 

On a totally separate note, it is the weekend again! Weeks are just speeding by, and my organic farming adventure is really on the horizon. Lots to do to prepare for that- my goal is to have plans set, plane tickets booked by Sunday. EEK!

This entry was posted in banana, bars, coconut, dates, nuts, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DateBites

  1. Pingback: Saturday Morning | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

