Cooking in the Morning

My house is completely void of fruit- and vegetables- and food in general.
I was finally fed (or UNfed) up with it. I woke up at 6:45, checked the time the grocery store opens, and headed out.
I came home while my mom was cooking breakfast with bags of fresh produce. She thought I was just out for a run, and was pretty surprised to see me lugging groceries into the house.
FINALLY!
In an effort to not have a totally boring lunch, I whipped up some black bean burgers and some sweet potato fries. Doesn’t take long- and I think I’ll be happy when noon rolls around 🙂
Sweet Potato Fries

To make these sweet potato “fries”, I just cut up one sweet potato into typical french fry shapes, sprayed them with olive oil, sprinkled them with salt, flipped them, repeated the spray and salt, and baked at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes, or until brown and crispy. I baked them on a silpat for non-stick cooking.

For the black bean burgers, well— I just made them my typical way- with oats, almonds, black beans, peas, corn, and spices. Never fails me.
Deelish!

The problem with cooking so early in the morning is that there was absolutely no part of me that wanted to do any taste testing. Oh well, hope for the best!

Lunch packed mmm!

What I did have a taste for were pancakes…Angela’s Healthy Spelt Panckaes for One

The ingredients
Wait until there are bubbles- then FLIP
Cut your fruit
Serve em up!

My pancakes were topped with agave syrup, unsweetened coconut flakes, homemade honey cinnamon almond butter (made my my sister- she is queen of almond butter now!), and fresh strawberries and bananas. These were so good and so very filling.

Lastly, I am happy to say this is my LAST POST with my old terrible camera that takes a good picture once in every 20 shots. So sick of it. I got a new one today!!!!!! More on that later, though.

Have a good wednesday! Aren’t you just loving this cool weather? So refreshing, and makes me so happy 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking in the Morning

  1. Pingback: Dinner for One | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

