Gourmet Snacking Day

So my camera is jussst about to break. It has been down for 2 days, and today it decided to work for me! Just in time too for my gourmet lunch from Whole Foods.

My cousin and I took a walk over to WF and although I was unsure what I wanted, I knew I didn’t want the salad bar for once. We of course strolled around taking advantage of samples, and something overcame me and all I wanted from then on out was cheese, olives, and bread. Why not, right?

And that’s what I got:

Pretty Gourmet Eh?

Some Olives, mushrooms, peppadew peppers, lima beans, artichoke…

MMM!

And some fruit for good measure…

Grapes, Honeydew, and Cantaloupe

And who can forget HUMMUS and 2 DELICIOUS rolls of fresh bread?!

That’s good fontina cheese right there

It was a great lunch!!! Hit the spot for sure!

When I got home from work I spied some dates in the fridge. See, I’ve been meaning to make my own version ofย Larabars for a long time, and I decided no better time than tonight.

BUT instead of just pictures my sister agreed to film me…SO we did. Yup. Made my very first cooking video. BUT I can’t figure out how to post the video. SAD! So for now here are the pictures of the Lara “balls” as you’ll see in the video…eventually:

LaraBalls

Close up!

So what are these, you ask?

Jamela’s Oatmeal Coconut LaraBalls

These treats are very similar to the Larabars you’d buy at the store. But they’re fresh and homemade, cost less, and made with love. Therefore, they’re better all around ๐Ÿ™‚ This version tastes very similar to an oatmeal raisin cookie. Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 10ish medjool dates, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2Tbs chopped raw almonds
  • 2Tbs unsweetened coconut, plus more for rolling
  • 3 squares of dark chocolate, plus more for rolling (optional)

Directions: Throw the dates, walnuts, and cinnamon into the food processor. Process about 30 seconds until combined. Throw this mixture into a bowl. Add chopped almonds, coconut, and dark chocolate. Mix with your hands to combine thoroughly. Take a bit of it, roll it into a ball, and roll the ball into coconut (and more chocolate too if you wish!) Package in air-tight container and store in fridge.

I have eaten way too many of these. They really are good! If you don’t have a food processor, I imagine a blender would work okay. Maybe chop the dates a bit more to help it along.

๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gourmet Snacking Day

  1. Pingback: Date “Truffles” | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

