Backyard BBQ

Last night we had my cousins, aunt, and uncle over for a goodbye dinner in honor of my sister and my cousin leaving for school. It was a BBQ, and since my dad had made some turkey burgers, I decided to make my go-to meal. Black Bean Burgers.

If you’ve asked me any time within the last month or so what to make, I’ve recommended these burgers. They are incredibly tasty, just the right amount of spicy, and PACKED with nutrition.

I wish more people had food processers. When I move out, I’m sure it won’t be the first thing I purchase either. It’s a shame really, because they’re so versatile. And they make making these Black Bean burgers a cinch!

the “dough”

The dough for this version of my recipe was altered a bit. My cousin is allergic to 2 of the usual ingredients: Almonds and raw carrots. So I subbed pumpkin seeds and some other vegetables- green pepper and white onion.

Pumpkin Seeds

What else is in this “dough”? A can and a half of black beans, 1/3 cup rolled oats, 1/3 cup pumpkin seeds, 1/4 white onion. 1/4 green pepper, cumin, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, chipotle pepper, white pepper, garlic powder. By no means do you need ALL of these spices, but I’m becoming partial to this combination. The beauty of this recipe is that you really don’t have to measure but instead just use what you like best! I do think you need some sort of nut/seed and those oats to bind though.

After this “dough” is made smooth in the food processer, take it out and put into a mixing bowl. At this point stir in some frozen (or fresh if you have!) corn, peas, and 1/2 can of beans (so now you’ve used 2 full cans of black beans.) This gives the burgers great texture and color as well!

Feel free to taste the “dough”. It’s vegan! All raw, and nothing that’s gonna make you sick.

Form into “burgers”:

Then bake at 350 for about 15 minutes per side.

Fully Loaded Black Bean Burger!

I topped my burger with avocado, grilled onion, cherry tomato. And ate in on a sandwich thin.

My Plate

It was such a beautiful night last night- perfect for a end of the summer BBQ!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

