Wholly Frijoles!

So so close to being the weekend…again!
Nothing better than starting a morning off with some oatmeal…
Best I’ve had in a while!

I discovered the trick to super-creamy oatmeal. This is what I do: I combine 1/4 cup oatmeal and 1/4 cup oat bran with 1 cup almond milk. Bring it to a boil, and while it’s bubbling stir constantly! Stir for a longg time. Well, like 4 minutes.

I topped my oatmeal with wheat germ, blueberries, coconut, and homemade almond butter.

Finished off the morning with Pilates from On Demand. Felt so great to stretch- been too long!

Backtracking to dinner last night…

My family and I met my Papa at this place:

Wholly Frijoles!
Been here before- never dissapointed! Food is consistently good, AND it’s BYOB!
me n’ my sis

Dining Al Fresco with the bugs.

As usual, my mom, sister and I split some stuff.
I’d been eyeing this soup, but wasn’t gonna get it…Until the waiter asked if we wanted soup or salad with our entree! Soup, please! I’ll take it 🙂
Chilled Potato Soup

Cool soup is an acquired taste, but this potato soup met my expectations for sure!

We ordered:

Red Snapper Salad

And…

Shrimp Fajitas

…And you can expect large amounts of refried beans on the side. Hands down what I look forward to most at Mexican restaurants.

And we sipped this beer througout:

TJ's Beer

The one on the right is Blue-Moonish, so of course I enjoyed it!

When I got home last night I was in the mood for an after-dark run. It was so relaxing! I miss being on a college campus- we did that all the time! There are just so many people out at all hours, so it’s not dangerous to go on a post 9pm run. By me, it’s completely dead on the streets except for a few passing cars. Also kinda freeing at the same time…

Anyway, lunch break at work is ending, and time to finish off the work week. 4 more hours! Chicago Air and Water show is this weekend- never been- can’t wait to experience it!

This entry was posted in oatmeal, restaurants, seafood, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

