Tortilla Espanola

After a longgg day at work, I was itching to get outside!!! A bike ride to the beach sounded like the perfect solution.

(Against what I said in my last post, an after-work workout was all I wanted today! So atypical!)

Ooohh Ahhhh

When I got there, I really wished I had a lock. I wanted to do a beach work out which was down a bunch of stairs, but I couldn’t risk leaving my bike alone. So I did a mini work out at the top of the hill. Some push ups, spider man push ups, squats, lunges, and some ab-twists. Felt good! Until the flys started eating me alive…

When I got home I was starving. And for some reason I had eggs and potatoes on my mind. Who knows why…

I’ve also been meaning to make tortilla espanola, so I kinda made up a recipe as I went along.

I first just sauteed some spinach with salt, pepper, and feta.

Next, I sliced some yellow onion, garlic, sweet potato, and red potatoes very thinly and began to sautee them in a cast iron skillet.

Cast iron skillets are key for this dish. They really enhance browning, and thus flavor as well.

After the vegetables were sufficiently softened and browned, like this:

…I poured them out of the skillet and into a mixing bowl.

At this point preheat your oven to BROIL!

I then added 2 eggs and mixed.

Re-greased the cast-iron skillet and poured the egg-potato mixture back in.

After this cooks a bit (maybe 3 minutes), throw under the broiler for about 5 minutes to cook the top.

The verdict?

Tortilla Espanola
Tortilla Espanola!
Over a bed of spinach-feta goodness.
Close up!

Oh, and I made another side…

Tomato cucumber salad with basil and lemon

My plate:

However, I ate 2 more pieces of the tortilla. Yup.

And some red wine to finish up the night…

Some Wine

Time to relaaaax and go to bed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

