Farmers’ Markets Anyone??

All of the following was done on Monday…haven’t had time to post…
How to Shuck Corn: A picture tutorial…

^^Throw that out!^^

^^Grilled Perfection (thanks to dad)^^
One day I will be good at grilling…one day. Not now.
Today, I will make the best kale chips of all time!
^^Washed and layed on baking sheet^^

^^Drizzled with balsamic^^
^^Baked ’til caramelized and CRUNCHy^^
Seriously try this- with the balsamic- so easy, healthy, addicting!
 I baked the kale at 350 for about 10 minutes. But you need to watch it and check every few minutes- Kale can go from crispy to charred in just a minute!
I also made some red quinoa just to have on hand…
Flat Out Pizza…
^^Roasted peppers, tomato paste, ricotta cheese, cherry tomatoes, pine nuts, raw white onion^^

^^Close up!^^
A post run smoothie:
For the week at work I made a contaner full of veggies just for snacking and dipping in hummus when my stomach starts growling…
I’ve been making some fruit salads too…
^^Add almonds for protein and fat^^
As you know I don’t go out to eat often, especially for lunch at work. But I was craving this lately from the deli next door…
^^Lox, chive cream cheese, lettuce, tomato, red onion, cucumber on WW bagel^^
I read this article which I totally connected to…
Especially ’cause it talked about going to farmers market to get inspiration and talking to the farmers about how to prepare the veggies/fruits. The answer is always “simply”. Good products don’t need to be fussed with much if at all!

^^Another fruit salad^^
And a delicious and SO filling Mexican feast with my sister and Erin…

That was veggie fajitas, guac and chips, and a salad all spilt between us 3. Healthy, filling variety. I left STUFFED between the food and my Corona light.
Have I convinced any farmers’ market virgins to attend a market yet? If so, here’s where you can go!
Enjoy—not so much time left!!! I’m heading to the HP one today after work, still haven’t tried that one and I live in Highland Park!!!!! Crazy!
This entry was posted in articles, bagels, Fruit, kale, markets, Mexican, Pizza, quinoa, seafood, smoothie, snacks, Tutorials, veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farmers’ Markets Anyone??

  1. Pingback: Quick Weekend Recipes | jamelafamela

Leave a Reply

