Experimenting with New Vegetables

Hello! Hope everyone’s Sunday is going well.
Today I had a huge to- do list to check off. First, and most excitingly, I successfully ran for 25 minutes this morning with NO PAIN! I can’t even begin to tell you how happy that made me. I will still continue to ice and compress and all of that. I have a lot of running to do this month…
It also helped that my ran started off to California Girls by Katy Perry and Snoop Dog. Loving that song right now!
^^Before I ran I ate a great bowl of oatmeal.^^
^^Great fuel!^^
Next on my to do list was to experiment with the veggies from the farmers’ market yesterday…
^^Remember these??^^
I had never made beets before. And to tell you the truth I don’t even like beets out of the can. All pickled like that…no thank you!
So I thought I’d try cooking fresh ones myself. While reading up on how to roast the beets, I learned a lot about their nutritional value.

Beet juice is rich in natural sugar, sodium, sulphur, chlorine, iodine, copper and vitamin B1, B2, C and bioflavonoids. Some holistic practitioners believe that beet juice combined with other juices like carrot and cucumber are excellent for cleansing the kidneys and gallbladder and for restoring health to these organs.” Source.

Wow! Okay, so let’s get started. 
First preheat the oven to 375.

Trim the pointy end, and cut the beets from the leafy part and stems.
^^You should be left with this.^^
Add a drizzle of olive oil, salt, and pepper.
^^Wrap in foil^^
Bake for 35 minutes (mine were baby beets- it’d be longer for normal sized beets.), or until fork tender.
^^You can see my fork marks^^
The thing about beets is that they really bleed. For this reason, beets can actually be used as a dye. But…When you go to peel the skin off…
^^This happens.^^
I mean, it mostly washed off. But yeah.
So when I peeled the skins from the beets, I used the tip of a spoon and held the beet in my left hand. You have to wait ’til the beets cool to do that.
Ok so remember those leafy parts of the beets? You can cook with them! I really didn’t want to throw them out, so I googled it…and yeah turns out you can saute them just like spinach!

^^Saving for dinner time…^^
Next I experimented with this…
I’d been eyeing them at farmers’ markets, and I finally decided to try ’em out.
I made Garlic Scape Hummus…

^^Parmesan Cheese, pepper, olive oil^^
^^Added a can of chick peas^^
^^Process until smooth, adding water and olive oil when needed until creamy^^
To be honest, as this was an experiment, I actually changed this recipe a bunch as I went. I think I’d need lemon and maybe pine nuts next time??? It was a bit too garlicy, and almost spicy.
^^I did a bunch of taste tests along the way^^
In the end, it was pretty good. But a little intense in flavor. I have to work on the recipe, so I won’t post it just yet. I do recommend these things to try out. Especially if you’re a garlic lover.
Now to get that garlic taste out of my mouth…
^^Fresh kale from the farmers’ market^^
Looks different than…
^^From the grocery store^^
I decided to use it the same…in a smoothie!
^^Frozen banana, mango, kale, and almond milk^^

^^See how I keep my frozen bananas?!^^
^^Drank it out of a measuring cup…just cause it was already dirty!^^
Yum needed that since it’s super hot out lately!
Later after running a bunch of errands and a one-to-one apple computer lesson…
Dinner!

^^Beet, beet leaves, goat cheese, white beans, salt, pepper.^^
MMM!!!!
Also made a sandwich with the garlic scape hummus.
^^This was put together after picturing.^^
On the whole wheat pita was garlic scape hummus, grilled eggplant and zucchini, tomato paste, riggot, and cherry tomatoes. Y.U.M.!!!! 
Edit: For my mom and sister I added walnut pieces and drizzled the salad with agave syrup. I completely recommend this addition!
And now I’m craving chocolate.
Bored? Check postsecret!!!
Hope you had an excellent weekend—Bye!
This entry was posted in Beans, beets, garlic scapes, hummus, kale, oatmeal, salad, sandwiches, smoothie, veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

