My Day Off and Festival Loving!

As I mentioned, I had Friday off of work. Summer hours you can call it- every other Friday off. Yay!
I was planning on going to the beach potentially, maybe some North Avenue Beach volleyball…but no. I ended up getting to cleaning…and then cleaned a lot more…and then more…you know when that happens? Once you start you can’t stop…I ended up cleaning my room, the bathroom, the kitchen (kinda), and even organized my sister’s room a little bit. It felt good. Reeeal good.
Before I got to cleaning I made a very good breakfast and took my time eating outside.
^^Oats and “Ice Cream”^^

^^Strawberry banana “ice cream”^^
Strawberry Banana “Ice Cream”:
Ingredients:
Frozen strawberries
Frozen bananas
Directions:
Put ingredients in food processor and process until you see something that looks pretty much exactly like ice cream!

^^Hit the spot!^^
How bout this heat? Ugh. This ice cream is my savior lately… Try it!
I was reading the “Play” section of the Tribune, and came across this…

^^I definitely want to try that out!!!^^
I went by Carrie to lay out, and turns out she’s got quite the garden going in her yard!
^^Basil^^
^^Parsley, Cilantro, and Rosemary^^
^^And some peppers and tomatoes coming up! She’s got quite the green thumb!^^
And she was kind enough to give me a bunch of basil!!
^^How beautiful!^^
My mom and I went on a 1.5 hour bike ride on bike paths around us. I didn’t realize all of the bike paths intersect- it’s really cool. You can get anywhere on these trails and they’re so nicely paved and quiet and just so peaceful. You can really speed! We ended the ride at our health club to take a pilates class. We were so tired the class was so hard for us! But it did feel great…Except when we were done and had to get back on our bikes to get home. I was pretty sore today. That hasn’t happened in a while–felt nice though!
I got home and got to work incorporating Carrie’s basil. I was determined to try out a new grain I got from the Bulk section at WF. Millet! I also had some veggies I wanted to use up…So…
I started out by stewing garlic, tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, onions, peppers, and carrots with some salt, pepper, and olive oil.

^^Millet^^

Millet, turns out, isn’t cooked like rice or many other grains that require a 2:1 liquid to grain ratio. Millet is 3:1 liquid:grain. I slipped up and did the 2:1 and had to add more liquid later. It was still okay, but just not as chewy as I imagine it should have been.

^^After ~20 minutes of cooking over med-low heat- added basil^^
Also roasted some asparagus…
^^350 convection bake for 10 minutes.^^
^^Perfect^^
I added some beans my dad had made earlier that day…
^^That’s what I call a dinner!^^
With the rest of the millet and veggies, I combined.
^^Good easy throw-in-a-tupperware lunch for the week!^^
Add the asparagus in too and call it a day delicious work lunch!
On my way back from the city this morning I spotted a sign in Deerfield stating there was a farmers market going on…NOW. So, obviously I went…

^^Fresh herbs galore! I want them all!^^

^^Raspberries and blueberries and cherries oh my!!!^^

^^Rhubarb, green beans, potatoes^^

^^Funny shaped focaccia…SOOO yummy!^^

^^Farmers’ Markets just make me so happy!^^

^^Honey of all forms and flavors!^^

^^Some music for listening enjoyment^^

^^What I bought…more on this tomorrow when I put it to good use!^^
I babysat later and went to the Evanston Art Fair with the kids and their mom.
^^Is he not the CUTEST!?^^

I saw so many amazing items, but everything costs way too much. Maybe one day I’ll be rich and able to buy some of these things. For now, it was just browsing… But you know what I do want next time I’m at an art fair? A nice mug and bowl- ceramic like. I’m on the look out…
Ok gotta be up early to try my hand feet at running again! Keep your fingers crossed…
This entry was posted in basil, Beans, festivals, Fruit, grains, herbs, ice cream, markets, millet, oatmeal, veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

