My Dad’s Catering Event…and then some

So, I know I’ve talked a lot about my dad’s catering event this last weekend. He recently started a company called Mo’Joe’s. Check out this party he did…
It was for our friend Genna’s graduation from Med school…Congrats Genna!!!
First of all, while we were prepping for the party, it was raining. And my dad had a whole lotta grilling to do. So we improvised…

^^Tent stacked on chairs for enough height over the grill^^
After plenty of hours… The food was a success…
^^Chicken, pesto, mozzarella sandwich^^

^^Grilled eggplant, zucchini, and goat cheese herb sandwich. My personal fave.^^

^^Bean salad with his homemade dressing^^

^^Peanut noodles^^

^^Also some beef tenderloin sandwiches there with grilled onions and horseradish sauce^^
 And Linda, Genna’s mom, made the desserts…
She is the BEST baker. Seriously.
^^Lemon cookies^^

^^Toffee chocolate chip cookies^^

^^Fruit and nut biscotti^^
I was exhausted to say the least after this party.
Yesterday I also went to Rick Bayless’s Frontera Farmer’s Foundation Farmer’s Market Before my dad’s event. The farmer’s market was amazing. But more on this in its own post…
Ok going back to…dinner Saturday night…
^^Eggadilla with spinach artichoke dip, and some grapefruit^^

^^Spinach, feta, and scrambled eggs inside a WW wrap^^
Went out to Dara’s new apartment! Then onto my friends’ engagement party! Congrats Mere and Eric ( I dunno if you guys ever read this…but congrats!!!)
Got home tooooo late, once again. Two 4am nights in a row is probably not the best decision in the world. I’ll pay for it allll week.
^^Sunday’s breakfast…honeydew and cottage cheese^^
Sunday, between the Frontera event and my dad’s party…Let’s just say I ate my weight in amazing fresh and delicious food. I was a very happy girl at the end of the day, food-wise. However, I was in desperate need of sleep.
Before diving under my covers, my sister and I hosted a Blood Party in honor of the premier of True Blood season 3! Yay! Finally a new show since all the other ones ended. I liked the premier, didn’t love it. But we’ll see where the season goes… We served some red wine to resemble blood but I’m pretty sure we’re the only ones who drank it…oh well. I needed it. Bad.
I stuck my feet in an ice bath a couple of times last night, and I’m currently ice-bathing them again. My foot is worse than before, due to my need to dance and move around too much. I need to rest it all week. I just want it to get better. I miss my running more than I thought possible…it’s making me very depressed and miserable 😦
Woke up to a treat from the farmer’s market, a good distraction from my aching foot…
^^Strawberries (pesticide free and local) and some banana oatmeal^^

^^How beautiful!^^

^^See the difference between strawberries from the store that are monstrous and the way strawberries were meant to be( So cute and tiny!)? I’ll talk more about this next post when I review the Frontera Farmer’s Market.^^
I sweetened my oatmeal with this today instead of honey:
^^Supposed to be better for you because it’s a low-glycemic sweetener…^^
…This means that when consumed, it won’t cause a sharp rise or fall in blood sugar. Read more.

I really am enjoying this agave, even in my coffee. Try it out- you can get it cheap at Trader Joe’s…like everything else!
For lunch I made a really good impromptu tuna salad. I didn’t bring lunch so I looked around our office’s kitchen. I found a can of tuna, some greek olive hummus, some cashews, and grapes. I thought it’d be good together, and WOW was I right! I know it may sound funky, but trust me. Toasted a sandwich thin, melted some cheese on it…great filling lunch right there!
I also tried some chocolate greek yogurt today, thanks to my papa. It was really yummy! Especially with cashews in there for crunch. I think it’d be good with melted peanut butter too. 
^^Pure pleasure is right!^^
I ate an apple and 1/2 grapefruit today for snacking purposes. I seriously get up to eat at least 6 times at work. And like 4 times to fill my water bottle. No exaggeration. 
Got home and was starving for dinner. I kinda wanted to make pancakes, but I settled for a veggie salad. After all I ate yesterday, I needed light food today.
^^Mish mosh of a salad to clear the fridge^^

^^All mixed up^^
In there was: Red quinoa, mixed greens, edamame, red onion, cherry tomatoes, pine nuts, fresh mozzarella, eggplant, corn, red pepper, shredded carrot, bean salad (from catered party).
It’s 7:47…I predict bed time is in less than an hour. Yup. For real…that tired. Too bad my mom told me it’s not possible to catch up on sleep. I hope I prove her wrong…
This entry was posted in agave, catering, Dessert, Eggs, Fruit, oatmeal, salad, sandwiches, yogurt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dad’s Catering Event…and then some

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is great! I'm loving your blog and look forward to seeing more. Joey's catering looks fabuloso! Shar

Leave a Reply

