New Things, some good, some not so much…

New oatmeal! This is a GOOD thing!
Bought in bulk to save some cash money!
^^ 1/2 oatbran, 1/2 oatmeal ^^
+

^^Raw honey mixed in^^
+ Almond milk + vanilla +
^^ + strawberries + almonds + hemp granola (a VERY good thing!)^^
=

^^yummy oatmeal :)^^
I went for a run, and it was so unsuccessful. This is a BAD thing…I’m so mad at myself… I’ve been saying I need new shoes for a long time now. My foot has been hurting for a few days, but I took 2 days off of running and assumed that’d be enough. Unfortunately, it was not. About 1/2 mile into my run my inner right foot was cramping. Bad. Like a permanent charlie horse that caused shooting pains upon running. I tried running through it, but I finally decided to listen to my body and stop. I walked home. Sad and mad. 😦
During my lunch break I went to Running Right and brought my old shoes so they could give me the same ones in a new model. Apparently they’d changed locations over a year ago and I didn’t know. That means I haven’t bought new shoes since probably last fall! Ahh! I ran so much last year, SO much in Aspen, some in the fall, and SOOOO much since this spring. Why would I expect a pair of running shoes would hold up?
See the difference??
^^This won’t bend^^

^^This one won’t NOT bend..aka terrible support for my feet!^^

Anyway, the guy at the store confirmed my desperate need for new shoes, and told me that must be the problem with my foot. Luckily I realized I’m a week ahead in my 1/2 marathon training, and if I take this week off of running and pick up on Monday, I should be right on track for the rache August 1. Hopefully I’m better by Monday..Until then I will RICE…rest, ice, compress and elevate! Oh, and take advil…
Anyway, I started off my day at work with black coffee and a piece of dark chocolate. This was GOOD!
Lunch:
^^Flat Out Wrap, Tahina and Hummus to dip, and some cherries^^
^^Roasted veggies from last night, smashed up hard boiled egg, ricotta cheese.^^
^^Carved out this Honey Crisp apple^^
Worked 10 hours today and came home starving for dinner.
I winged a Quinoa salad…
^^Peas, black beans, hot sauce, feta, corn, orange juice, dried cranberries, cherry tomatoes, mango^^
^^2 parts water, 1 part quinoa, brought to a boiled then simmer 15 minutes until all liquid absorbed.^^
^^added cilantro and crushed that chip in the mix…YUM!^^
Jamela’s Quinoa Salad:
Ingredients:
1 cup cooked quinoa
1/2 cup peas (I used frozen)
1/2 cup corn (I used canned)
1/4 cup chopped cherry tomatoes
1/3 cup black beans
1/4 cup chopped fresh mango
Handful dried cranberries
1/3 cup feta
1/4 cup salsa ( I used the one I got at the farmers market Sunday)
1/2 orange squeezed
Handful Cilantro
Hot sauce, salt, and pepper to taste.
(Optional tortilla chips crunched in, added at end)
Directions:
Mix all together, serve hot or cold!
This is not really a recipe, more like ideas. Add whatever you want, make it your own!!!
Today was full of ups and downs. I’m off to ice my foot and watch the season finale of Glee!!!

This entry was posted in cheese, Fruit, honey, oatmeal, quinoa, Running, salad, wraps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

