Needing Zzzz’s

I feel like I am running on empty right now. I am so exhausted. Why? Here’s what I’ve been up to since Friday…
Friday I woke up and ate this for breakfast:
^^Almost out of my homemade almond butter 😦 ^^
Then I went for a brisk walk- it was a rainy morning and actually felt really nice…I wore a baseball cap to protect my eyes and my ipod wore a plastic bag to protect its functionality 🙂
I listened to the Lost Podcast with Jay and Jack- in preparation for Sunday’s finale!!!
At work I had this for snack:
^^Black coffee^^
^^And very very juicy grapefruit. The way I like ’em^^
Lunch was same as the day before- cous cous leftovers…therefore it’s going unpictured.
^^Another snack. Apple in greek yogurt (what was left in the container) with Kashi 7 grain puffs (YUM!) and a scoop of warmed/melted peanut butter.^^
I headed downtown after work to meet my friends for dinner- because of the Blackhawk game it took me over an hour and a half to hit Bucktown vs. my usual 50ish minutes. 
Before dinner we sat on Pam’s rooftop for a drink or two…
I had a glass (or 2…) of White wine.
See that wheat Bud Light in the background? I meant to taste it but didn’t. On my to-do. Looks good!
For dinner we went to Uncle Julios. It was just eh.
After 4 or 5 baskets of chips and salsa (there were 6 of us), Heather and I split…
^^Portabella mushroom salad- with lots of black beans and jicama and other stuff? Not too memorable.^^
and
^^Fish tacos^^
Then onto a few bars, and countless tequila shots…
And a hangover in the am…
Drove home in the morning and made Allie’s 3-ingredient crepes except mine were more like pancakes…
^^With peanut butter, almond butter, banana, and cottage cheese. YUM!^^
I layed around motionless for a good 3 hours. Not by choice.
Finally made it up around 2 to run 5 miles! Don’t ask how I got through it. But it felt good to sweat, that’s for sure!
I was babysitting that night, and I wanted to make the family I babysit for some lentils since I know how much they like them!
^^onion, celery, carrot^^
Sautee, add the lentils, toss, add a bay leaf…
Add can of tomato sauce
And then a carton of veggie broth.
Bring to a boil and then simmer for about an hour.
All that liquid gets soaked up, all the flavor transferring inside each lentil.
See tutorial. Subtract curry.
My lentils come a little different each time, due to the lack of formal recipe.
While babysitting, a little hopscotch… 
^^So fun! Been like….17 years so…^^
And then instead of babysitting, I cooked for the family and their friends. For the kids I made cheese pizza (cheese in crust for a special touch)
And for the adults…
^^That’s roasted veggies with feta cubes, curried cous cous salad, and sauteed swiss chard, kale, and raisins. The raisins really combat the bitterness of these greens.^^
^^I wrapped this fresh ww baguette in foil and put it in the oven to warm it.^^
^^Grilled shrimp and corn (corn not made by me)^^
I’ll have to do a tutorial on butterflying shrimp one of these days. So easy, that shrimp. 
I’d say it went over pretty well :). It was really fun at the least!
I went to bed after “babysitting”, and had to wake up at 6:45 to waitress at 7:30. 
(Can you see why I’m so tired yet?)
My car thermometer read 72 degrees on the way to the restaurant at 7:15. Yes, it was like 90 the rest of the day. 
After waitressing, I went to babysit again. 
Straight from babysitting I went to my friends’ condo downtown to watch the series finale of…
I had made these brownies on Thursday since I knew I wouldn’t have time before then…
I used this recipe.

^^Decorated for the occasion…Dharma water courtesy of Carly…so creative!^^
To put that “LOST” on there, I made a stencil with paper and cut out those letters. Then I put powdered sugar over it then pulled off the paper. That’s what was left!
I can’t believe Lost is over…and I am still not sure what I think about the finale. Still soaking it in.
Got home at 12:30 last night. My bed was SCREAMING my name.
This morning I had pancakes then ran 3.5 miles. It was 90 out at 7 am I swear. Yick. But helps you get right into the run and not have to warm up at all. Easy on the joints.
Anyway I got home and needed a cool shower then…
^^A frosty GREEN monster.^^
In the mix:
My Green Monster
1 frozen banana
Handful frozen mango (Trader Joe’s)
Handful spinach (or you can use kale)
1/4 cup almond milk
1/2 avocado
Water
Ice
You’d be amazed how creamy that avocado made the smoothie. I was skeptical, but LOVED it.
These ingredients made 2- I saved one for tomorrow. Frozen.
I always keep a bunch of bananas in a baggie now in the freezer- just throwing new ones all in the same bag. 
Lunch and eats at work today were nothing special at all. A kiwi, cherries, lentils for lunch, string cheese…
Dinner was pure comfort food.
^^My mom’s beans and ricotta cheese^^
^^And Kale chips.^^
I think I mastered the Kale chips now…
Kale Chips:
Kale, torn 
Cooking Spray
Salt
Red wine vinegar
Spray baking sheet, put torn kale on it, sprinkle with salt, spray once more.
When done, drizzle red wine vinegar on them. Like salt and vinegar chips!
Aaand now blogging and relaxing. And bed real early. And probably a fruit salad soon.
And now you know why I’m absolutely exhausted
Ciao!
This entry was posted in avocado, Beans, cous cous, Dessert, Fruit, games, Homemade, kale, Mexican, pancakes, seafood, smoothie, TV, veggies, wine, yogurt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Needing Zzzz’s

  1. saralyn says:

    We loved the lentil soup. Thanks! Mike has had it for dinner every nt since you brought them over…and the dinner yo umade on sat nt was delish! thanks. I am tired reading about your few days!!

  2. Lucas says:

    Jamela ever since you and Goldin brought cous cous salad to the pool one summer day I have been absolutely obsessed with it.

Leave a Reply

