Looking for the silver lining…

On a morning like today, when I wake up so tired since it thundered all night and I coudn’t sleep, and all I wanted to do was lay in bad all morning since it was pitch black outside, it’s hard to see that silver lining…
But then I thought..I MADE HOMEMADE MAPLE ALMOND BUTTER LAST NIGHT
and immediately I sprung out of bed. Pathetic I know…
I also had a good eating section of the tribune to catch up on, AND the food section of the sun times which I stole from work. Double bonus!
The almond butter in my oats did NOT disappoint.
I browsed and found this article…good to know!
Eating in season not only will save you money, but you will notice a much more flavorful fruit/vegetable. I always wondered what was in season when- this helped a lot!
And where to buy these seasonal goods?
Farmers markets are really fun! Go check one out around you—
Over the summer I went to the farmers market in Aspen every weekend. Even when I was in St Louis and in Boulder I went to those ones as well. I think it’s so cool how every city has their own, and they’re each unique. You get to meet really passionate farmers and try some new foods- everything tastes SO good! 
Of course, I’m partial to the farmers market in Aspen…
Fresh local ingredients? and Mountains?? Yes please!

Look at that colorful pasta dish I made purely with ingredients from the market! I can still taste it now…
Anyway, I woke up this morning and like I said, it had been raining all night. I was bummed cause I had to run 3 miles this morning. Treadmills make me angry. I hate them so much! But I had to do it- there was flooding everywhere- it took me 50 minutes to get to my work- 2 miles away. Yeah. No exaggeration there.
Looking for the silver lining, I suddenly had a beautiful lake in my backyard!

No. This is not normally there. It’s a special treat! It even gets little ripples from the wind, and ducks come and swim sometimes! I hope this lasts a bit longer…
Lunch was a variation on yesterday’s lunch…and dinner combined.
So into this combo of foods right now.
And snack=plan nonfat greek yogurt-TJ’s- and a fruit salad!
And a relaxing TV night at home. Parks and Rec…Yessss.
and apple slices w/ my almond butter and melted chocolate!!
See, the other good thing about stormy nights is the ability for me to relax. I have trouble doing that. I hate that I do, but hey what can I do about it? SO yeah, I’ll take these stormy days and cuddle up with them 🙂
This entry was posted in Fruit, markets, nature, storms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for the silver lining…

  1. Lucas says:

    Jame,Love your blog!! As you know I love cooking healthy food. So glad to hear that you are supporting local farmers markets as it is so important for the community and health. It is much easier for me living in California to find great local food. Nothing beats the Santa Monica Farmers Market on Saturdays for breakfast and fresh fruit.I have serious question I would love to hear your thoughts on.Over the past few years I have been an avid believer in eating only whole grains carbohydrates which I often call my power foods. Recently from a friend and my boss I have been told Gluten free is the only way to go if you want to live an active lifestyle and improve your digestion. What do you think? Should I stick to my whole grains or try and cut out the gluten? Miss you, keep up the great blog!!!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Ooo….apple + chocolate ??..2 of my faves…that looks good 🙂

Leave a Reply

