Healthy Comfort Food

My mom isn’t a cook, or a baker by any means. But she makes the best bran muffins in the world. And they’re especially amazing right outta the oven (what isn’t?) Yesterday I walked into my house after work and I knew right away from the smell what had just popped out of the oven. Yes, I ate 2 of them before dinner! Had to, right?

Recipe coming soon!

And my healthy comfort food recipe? Mashed potatoes with goat cheese, broccoli, and green onions, served with soft boiled eggs.

This is my first go at soft boiled eggs- and I have a feeling it’s gonna become something I regularly cook now. YUM. It’s like potatoes and eggs, but all different.

For the potatoes, I just smashed up 3 russet potatoes, skin and all, added 3/4 cup skim milk, 1/3 cup goat cheese, 1 cup steamed broccoli, and a hand full of green onions. Add salt and pepper to taste. You probably need more salt than you think. Lastly, put this all into a loaf pan, sprinkle with parmesan cheese, and broil it so the top gets all crunchy! And hey, the more cheese the better eh?

For soft boiled eggs, just put the eggs in a pot and cover em with water. START THE TIMER! 10 minutes…Bring the water to a boil…when it boils simmer ’til the timer goes off. Take ’em outta the pot, run under cool water until touchable, give ’em a little crack, and spoon all the goog, yolkey goodness out!

This entry was posted in Eggs, Healthy, Muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

