Sunday Morning Breakfast


Don’t you just love Sunday mornings? I do. See, every morning I wake up and eat some cereal, maybe mix it up with some oatmeal…but Sundays are different. I try to make something special, a little more gourmet than my bowl of Kashi cereal. So today I made some french toast. Yum. Eating french toast takes me back to elementary school when my mom used to buy those french toast sticks from market day- that school bulk food sale? It was also the only day in school that my mom didn’t make me lunch and I opted for hot lunch instead- for those french toast sticks dunked in the little container of syrup. Anyway, I loved those things. So since I’m older and don’t order from market day anymore, I make it myself. And I make it healthy. This is how:

2 slices of Ezekiel cinnamon raisin bread (We buy it at Trader Joe’s)
1/3 cup of egg whites
dash of cinnamon
dash of skim milk
dash of vanilla
pinch of salt (you NEED this salt)

real maple syrup on top
and some bananas

Spray the pan and heat it up. Mix all ingredients except the bread in a shallow bowl, large enough to fit a bread slice. Soak the bread in the egg mixture. Lay each slice on the pan for about a minute and a half then flip em for another minute and a half.

DONE! Easy as pie, I mean french toast. Just drizzle that syrup and make sure to get a banana wheel along with a bite of toast on each fork full.

Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

