Homemade Apple Pie

After apple picking last weekend we went home with an abundance of little apples- perfect for snacking- but even more perfect for pie.

Mmmm apple pie.

When I think of apple pie I think of all things warm and comforting. For some reason I also picture making while wearing an apron back in the 1950’s and setting it on the windowsill to cool.

Well, it is comforting, I did wear an apron, and we DO have an excellent windowsill on which it could cool— but that window happens to be the cats’ in and out to the house. Oh well. Oh, and it’s 2011.

Either way- it was a bright and sunny morning… 

I made my coffee and set to start slicing apples. I put a bowl of flour next to them so I could just toss ‘em right in.

The flour coating the apples makes the “sauce” that forms in the pie a bit thicker. I think some recipes call for corn starch- but I’m not a fan.

This is the brown sugar spice mixture I created with brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.

I made this dough the night before- and it sat in the fridge all night chillin’ out. Pie dough used to scare me. Not anymore. It’s actually really easy. 

While the dough is still in the baggie, hit it with the rolling pin to flaten it a bit. Then pull it out of the bag and roll it out gently and evenly, focusing from the middle- onto a lightly floured surface-with a floured rolling pin. 

Make sure it gets to the point that it’s larger than your pie pan. You can roll it onto the rolling pin for an easier tranfer into the pie pan.

Press it lightly into the pie pan… Let excess hang over.

If there is a tear, just patch it with some excess dough. Throw this into the fridge and work with the other ball of dough.

Once that is ready, go ahead and layer a layer of apples, top with the sugar spice mixture, then more apples, then more sugar spice.

Top with the other pie dough layer- which I had cut three circles in before I removed it from the table. This is a vent. You can just poke holes/slits with the knife, or, if I had a little apple cookie cutter I’d use that actually. Cute!

Press the 2 pieces of crust together to form a seal. Then cut the edges off to make it look all pretty.

Brush with eggwash and sprinkle with white sugar.

Bake at 400 for about 35 minutes. Until golden.

Look at that steam!

I am evil and made my roommate (and myself) wait to eat this. I wanted it to cool completely for the sake of a good, clean slice and a good picture. So fast forward to the next day when I sliced and photographed- round 2!

There you have it. A perfect piece of apple pie. Comforting. Sweet. Spicy. Buttery. Flaky. Everything you could ask for.

But actually- I’m not THAT evil. With the leftover pie dough (from trimming the excess off the sides and the excess apples)- I made mini pies in muffin tins!

I demanded this be enjoyed right away. These are adorable and I would totally do these for a party one time!

I kind of used a recipe, but I kind of didn’t. I really, really don’t do well with recipes. So here are the insprations/templates for recipes I used:

Crust and circle cut out design: Joy the Baker

The idea to layer apples with cinnamon spice topping, and the temperature of the oven: Family Style Food

The cinnamon spice mixture was 1 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg.

I used about 15 mini apples, sliced as you see above. Coated in about 2 Tbs flour.

And I saw on a few recipes to brush with egg wash- and I decided to sprinkle with sugar. Because why not?

My first go at homemade apple pie: successful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Apple Pie

  1. There’s nothing quite like a delicious homemade apple pie!

Leave a Reply

